View our live camera
 

Reviews Sent to us in 2016

We are continuing to populate this section with more of our great reviews. If you've had the pleasure of staying with us in the past and would like to send us your review, please feel free to contact us.

A large portion of our business is based on returning clients who can’t wait to return to the Villas on Great Bay. Read our clients’ enthusiastic reviews in their own words.

2017 |2016 |2015 |2014 |2013 |2012

December 2016

TFan Villa #9 - Wilmington, NC December 17 - 24, 2016. Villa 9..Great Vacation !! We just returned from a week at the Villas on Great Bay. To start - Wally the manager was extremely helpful the entire week. Helping us order delivery our 1st night there when it was raining, suggesting places to eat, places to visit, and arranging our trip with Eagle Tours. Villa #9 is very comfortable. While other villas may be more updated this villa was nice and we were comfortable. The bathrooms have been updated and are wonderful. We enjoyed the roof top deck - ability to sit out without people staring at you. The downstairs porch was great - we enjoyed breakfast there each day as we watched the cruise ships. The kitchen was well stocked with pots and pans, dishes, etc. If you plan to cook stop by the grocery store on the way in. Either route you take has a grocery store, however the route that takes you across the bridge will take you to a nicer grocery store. It is a hard right just past the RBC bank. Philipsburg was an easy walk and several restaurants were open for dinner during the week. TFan Wilmington, NC

November 2016

Colleen Villa #6 - Ottawa, Ontario November, 2016. Villa 6 !! Had a wonderful week in villa 6. We usually stay at resorts and this was the first time that we rented a villa so was not too sure if this was the way to go. Wow! We stayed in number 6 and it was great in that it had every amenity imaginable and was extremely clean. The bedrooms had high quality mattresses and bedding. The sheets were very high quality thread counts which you do not find all the time and can you imagine having Ralph Lauren bath towels and Lacoste beach towels at your disposal!How decadent to have a pool and the ocean steps away from where you are staying!! It was nice and quiet and did not have the 'noise' that resorts have and we did not have to fight for a beach chair. Shops and restaurants are just a walk away. I would highly recommend this villa. Colleen, Ottawa, Ontario
Kevin F. Villa #2 - November 20 - 27, 2016. Villa #2 !! We had a wonderful time at your Villa. It was so cozy and immediately felt like home. Very nicely decorated. This was our 10 visit to the Friendly Island and our second to the Villas. Wally is a fantastic addition. He made us feel very comfortable and you could tell that he has a very genuine concern for the happiness of his guests as well as the maintenance of the Villas. He is very accommodating in every way. I would definitely recommend your Villa to any of our friends and we both said that we would stay there again in a heartbeat. Kevin F.
Lynn S. Villa #2 - November 13 - 20, 2016. 50th Birthday !! This is a great rental. Doug, the owner is very responsive. The property is very clean and well stocked. Wally, the property manager, is extremely helpful and has great knowledge of the island. He made our stay a totally relaxing vacation. He set up reservations, taxis and connected us with great fresh lobster! It was a great 50 birthday! Can't wait to go back! Lynn S.
Laurie R. Villa #2 - Canada November 6 - 13, 2016. The Pictures Don't do it Justice !! Our first impression of this villa is bright and airy. It is nicely decorated and the kitchen is well stocked . The villa and the property were clean and well maintained. We really enjoyed having our morning coffee on the patio watching the cruise ships arrive. We went to Chesterfields for dinner as well as Tastevin in Grand Case and we really enjoyed both. We found all the local restaurants had excellent food. We also went to Tijon and created our own perfume. Can't wait to try it again. The manger provided excellent customer service. He was always available to answer questions and help with daily activities. The taxi service was very reliable. We have already recommended this villa to friends and family but the best compliment that we can give is that we re-booked for next year before we left. Laurie R. Canada
Kirby A. - November, 2016. My Forever Place to Stay in SXM !! We booked this place for a week while we were on the island. The villas were beautiful and right on the beach. A short walk to town on the beach then the boardwalk. Quiet location with a pool. We will always go back to book this holiday spot for my family and I. Kirby A.

October 2016

Lorie M. Villa #9 - Oct. 13 to 18, 2016. Honeymoon Heaven !! We spent 5 nights at the villa for our honeymoon and it was awesome. We were greeted by the manager who showed us around, offered advice about spots to visit and eat and gave us his cell phone # to call if we had any problems while we were out exploring the island. The pictures on the website are spot on. The villa was clean and spacious, very private and stocked with everything we needed. The views are awesome. We spent every morning and evening on the deck off the bedroom enjoying the sound of the waves and beautiful skies. The swimming was awesome. Perfect location for a beach stroll to the stores or restaurants but far enough away so its quiet. I would recommend renting a car, which we got at the airport. It was fun to go off and get lost on the island. Its not that big and you can always find your way back. Luca was very quick to respond to all e-mails, and also gave a lot of info on places to see. I would highly recommend this villa and we will definitely go back. Thank you Luca for the great experience! We went home with a lot of memories. Lorie M.

September 2016

Brad R. Villa #9 - Sept 15 to 21, 2016. Great Location !! We spent 6 nights at this Villa. It is in a perfect location off on the far end of Great Bay. It gives you the shopping & restaurants within walking distance but the quietness away from the action if you like. Rodger & Ruth were helpful in providing directions on the island and replacing the BBQ propane when it went empty. The kitchen is very small with not a lot of counter space to store much if you like to do your own cooking but the location makes up for it. We had the pool to ourselves the entire stay being off-season. I would recommend this villa to others and hope to stay here again on my next visit. Thanks Luca for opening up your great villa to us! Brad R.
Kathryn A. Villa #2 - Ontario, Canada Sept 27 to Oct 4, 2016. Villa #2 is the Best on the Island !! Doug and Becky have provided the perfect home for their visitors in Villa #2. It has everything that you would want and require to make your stay relaxing and stress free. There is no need to bring anything except some food items as they have provided everything you will need. We brought some frozen meats (turkey, roast, ground beef, back bacon) and they stayed frozen during the entire trip from Ontario. The property was spotless and cleaned each day before we stepped outside, the newspaper was waiting on our table top outside. We always felt safe as they have security there each night. The stores are close by for all your shopping needs. We walked or took the public bus most of the time and felt safe. We also went out in the taxi with James who was recommended by the villa. There was only one day that the cruise ships came in and all of the stores were open then, otherwise it was a hit and miss but this was also due to the time of the year we traveled. I would recommend this villa to anyone considering traveling to St. Maarten, Doug was in touch with me prior to staying and also after to see if there was anything he could offer. Wally the new manager started just as we were leaving and offered to help us in any way to prepare us for our departure. We are looking forward to our return trip in April. Thank you Becky and Doug for sharing your home with us. Kathryn A., Ontario, Canada

August 2016

Gay B. Villa #4 - Indianapolis, IN USA Aug 17 to 24, 2016. WoW !! This villa was fantastic! It exceeded our expectations. On-site managers, Roger and Ruth, were new to their jobs. They were still being trained on the mechanics, but they already knew how to make guests feel welcome and well cared for. We had plenty of towels, toilet paper, soap, etc. to last the whole stay. Everything was squeaky clean and nicely cared for. Pool was great! We were close to the boardwalk and enjoyed dining at many of the local restaurants. We especially enjoyed The Lazy Lizard, Juggie's Place and the Cornie's Bar & Grill. Plus we were regulars for a Guavaberry Colada or Rum Punch most everyday at the Guavaberry Store. We felt quite safe, although tended to stay in after dark. One hint about St. Maarten - take plenty of cash or be prepared to use a bank machine. Not many places took credit cards. I would recommend Villa #4 to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation in a beautiful setting. We hated to leave and hope to return in the future. Gay B. Indianapolis Indiana USA
Patty H. Villa #9 - Virginia USA Aug 7 to 12, 2016. Family Getaway !! We had a wonderful time at the villa. The location was ideal and a close walk to the boardwalk and shops. The photos were accurate, ideal for our adult family of 5 and we would definitely stay here again. Luca was very responsive, helpful in organizing our arrival and answering our questions. The proprietary managers Rodger and Ruth were wonderful. They answered our many questions about the area, were very helpful and made us feel comfortable and welcome. Also, the security guard was friendly and always there in the evenings as we returned from our outings. I would recommend this villa and look forward to our next visit to the island. Patty H. Virginia USA

July 2016

Millan, Villa #9 - Bensalem, PA. USA July 17 to 24, 2016. Beach and Relaxation !! I just returned from a week in July. The villa and location are fantastic. Luca the owner, feels like a friend. You are steps from what I think, is one the best beaches on all of the island with plenty of activity including watercraft rentals. You have wonderful restaurants all within walking distance along with grocery stores and bakery also close by. If shopping is your pleasure you have all of Philipsburg’s Front Street a quick walk from your entrance as well. Location management is very accommodating and booking is easy and pain free. When we return to Sint Maarten we’ll come back to the Villas. Millan, Bensalem, PA. USA
Gay B., Villa #4 - Indianapolis, IN. USA July 22 to 29, 2016. WoW !! This villa was fantastic! It exceeded our expectations. On-site managers, Roger and Ruth, were new to their jobs. They were still being trained on the mechanics, but they already knew how to make guests feel welcome and well cared for. We had plenty of towels, toilet paper, soap, etc. to last the whole stay. Everything was squeaky clean and nicely cared for. Pool was great! We were close to the boardwalk and enjoyed dining at many of the local restaurants. We especially enjoyed The Lazy Lizard, Juggie's Place and the Cornie's Bar & Grill. Plus we were regulars for a Guavaberry Colada or Rum Punch most everyday at the Guavaberry Store. We felt quite safe, although tended to stay in after dark. One hint about St. Maarten - take plenty of cash or be prepared to use a bank machine. Not many places took credit cards. I would recommend Villa #4 to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation in a beautiful setting. We hated to leave and hope to return in the future. Gay B, Indianapolis, IN, USA
George Z., Villa #12 - Brantford, Canada July 26 to August 2, 2016. Nice vacation at the Villas !!! I am still at the Villas, as I am writing this review. We stayed here for a week - July 26 - Aug 2. 5 of us in our group. 2 kids and 3 adults. We stayed in villa #12. This is a very nice place, just minutes away from the heart of Philipsburg. It is a 5 minute walk to "downtown". The cab ride from the airport - it's about 15-20 minutes. Our unit is very spacious. It is a little "dated". Bit of a rough start when we arrived - shower was plugged, TV's not working - however once we got everything sorted out it was fine and met our needs. We happened to take a peak at some other villas, and #4 was by far the nicest we had seen. It is completely remodeled and very nice. Food on the island is very expensive. I am comparing to Canadian prices. We spent about $275 USD on groceries for the week - but keep in mind that really only covered the essentials. Meals dining out are just as expensive. For the 5 of us, and sticking to the sandwich/kids menus - still would run us about $70 per meal. Taxi rides are also very expensive. About a mile and a half from the villas is a larger grocery store (Grande Marche). Cab there and back was $25. $40 one way to the airport. Not sure about renting a car?? Parking looks like it could be an issue. We did not rent a car. We got smart and used the local bus. $1.00 per person. Very easy to take and the drivers are helpful. You can take the bus to the Grande Marche to get your groceries. Ruth and Roger (property managers) are extremely nice and friendly. They are new to the property and still learning the ropes. I think with time they will quickly become pros. It was a pleasure meeting them. There is laundry on site, and it does not cost extra. Call John for a cab ride or an Island tour. His number is on the welcome sheet when you arrive. He was excellent. All in all, we had a great time here and would certainly recommend giving it a try. Choose your villas carefully. We opted for the 3 bedroom unit for the 5 of us, however, looking back the 2 bedroom unit would have been more than adequate. Some of the units have terraces overlooking the pool and ocean. I wish we had picked one of those. Maybe next time? The last time we were in St. Maarten was in 1999. The area is showing its age. However, we felt safe and the people are very friendly. We are packing up, getting ready to go home - and we truly could stay another few days. Feel free to contact me with any questions you may have. George Z. Brantford, Canada
Calin S., Villa #9 - USA July 9 to 16, 2016. Villas on Great Bay !!! Second time at this villa....except a few minor things which I won't even mention here, everything perfect...if you look for privacy , this is the place on the island Calin S., USA

June 2016

Sharon V., Villa #4 - Pennsylvania June 18 through 25, 2016. Great Vacation at the Villas !!! I just got back from a wonderful week at the Villas. I was with a group of 11 family and friends and so had rented 3 of the Villas. Villa # 2, Villa #4, and Villa # 9. All three Villas were nice, but since I stayed in Villa #4, I want to take a minute and talk about how great it was. This Villa is really beautiful, recently renovated with new appliances, and lovely decor. There are two bedrooms and two bathrooms upstairs. Villa 2, 4 and 9 have two bathrooms upstairs. Villa 9 lacks a dishwasher. Downstairs there is another 2 piece bathroom and an outdoor shower. I could easily see 4 - 5 people being comfortable here. The location of Villa 4, just behind the pool was great as well and ended up being where most of our group of 11 hung out if we were by the pool. We could grill there and of course our refrigerator to grab a cold drink was also the closest!! So location is great. The Villas property is well maintained from the grounds, the pool, the security, etc. We thought it was all very nice and we always felt secure! There is a security guard from 6:00pm to 6:00am, although it was really quiet at all times that we were there. The Villa Property is located on the beach with a great view of Great Bay and the Cruise ship terminal on the other side of the Bay. You are within an easy walk to all the action on the Philipsburg boardwalk and Front street whenever you want it. It's really a perfect spot. Over all, I will plan to go back to this property when I'm in St. Maarten! I also just want to give a thank you to the Owner of Villa # 2, Doug. Doug was so helpful to me when I was planning my trip. He responded to my e-mails, he was available by phone, he provided a lot of information about St. Maarten and the Villas. He also recommended Villa # 4 as another Villa I might want to rent. He made the process of renting the Villas so much easier and pleasant. Thanks again Doug!!! Sharon V., Pennsylvania
Jan C., Villa #9 - Taunton, UK June, 2016. Villas on Great Bay !!! This Villa and it`s situation can only be described only as"a little piece of paradise" We have been traveling to the Caribbean for the last 30 years and have visited most of the Islands,some many times over. As there are no direct flights from the UK to St Maarten we had to fly to Paris and change planes there but the 15 hour journey was worth every minute! To wake up in the morning to such a beautiful view across Great Bay with its turquoise sea and white sand is just breath taking. We loved watching the Bay come to life on Cruise ship days with sun beds and wave runners appearing from all directions! However it never seemed to interfere with the peace and tranquillity of our beachfront oasis and magically disappeared as we watched the ships sail out at night. The Villa is spotlessly clean,well equipped and has really comfortable beds and pillows! There is so much to see and do on the Island with fabulous beaches,great shopping and Segway tours are a must! Thank you for the opportunity of renting your beautiful home from home and to all who made our stay a pleasure from booking to departure we hope to return ! Jan C., Taunton, UK
Jan C., Villa #9 - Taunton, UK June 4 through 15, 2016. Paradise Found !!! From the moment we arrived at this lovely Villa we knew we had picked a really stunning location. This was our first visit to St Maarten having spent the last 30 years discovering the delights of the Caribbean, it is a beautiful Island and well worth the journey from the UK. Everything about the villa was perfect,spotlessly clean,really comfortable beds and lovely soft fluffy towels ! We loved waking up to the views across the turquoise sea and soft white sands watching the Boardwalk come to life if a Cruise ship had docked. Sunbeds wave runners and all sorts of colourful traders would appear from nowhere just far away enough not to disturb this little piece of paradise, but provide great entertainment St Maarten offers such choice of beautiful beaches & places to visit not to mention shopping and Segway tours down the beach! There is a wide selection of places to eat catering for all budgets and tastes,the larger supermarkets offer a great selection of food at reasonable prices for self catering. We really loved everything about our stay here and would come back in a heartbeat. Thank you Luca for giving us the opportunity of sharing your fabulous holiday home and providing a very professional service. Thanks also to Jim who was a pleasure to meet ! To anyone reading this in the UK PLEASE MAKE THE EFFORT TO COME HERE the flight might be a little longer but so worth the effort !!!!!!!! Jan C. Taunton, UK
Kathy & Otis S., Villa #2 - USA May 28 through June 11, 2016. Amazing Villa in Paradise !!! Location, location, location just about says it all. Coming from the airport that first day, we came down off the mountain and around past Divi Little Bay and 'bam'!', there it was right in front of us - The Villas on Great Bay! We hadn't even gotten our luggage out of the car when Dan, the resident manager, was out on the sidewalk greeting us and helping us with our bags inside. He showed us around as we ooo'd and ahh'd over everything and it didn't take long for us to feel right at home. The villa is just as advertised - 2 bedrooms, 2 1/2 bathrooms, living, dining, kitchen, a front lanai (with outside shower!), and a back lanai overlooking Great Bay with cruise ships on the other side, the pool, swaying palm trees and close to downtown Philipsburg and the boardwalk with shops, restaurants, bars and the beautiful blue waters of the Caribbean! Everything is provided in the villa along with a "welcome" basket of goodies (and more!!!) and everything is sparkling clean, clean, clean! Walking down to the boardwalk is just a few blocks away and there are some great restaurants to try such as Lizzie's for casual beachfront meals and Antoine's for fine dining. Driving on the island is not as hard as one might imagine and it really helps you to learn the roads, the roundabouts and saves a fortune on taxis. Just beware of motorcycles zooming between you and oncoming traffic! There is so much to do on St. Martin. Go to Grand Case for a casual lunch at the lolo (locally owned locally operated) for great ribs and chicken or a fine dining restaurant while watching the sun go down. Catch a ferry in Marigot up to Anguilla (passports required) and pick your favorite beach there from Mead's Bay to Shoal Bay East (our two favorites). Catch the high-speed ferry in Philipsburg down to St. Barths where the rich and famous play (again passports required). Catch the show and dinner at Cheri's Cafe in Maho for an evening of laughter and, of course, spend some time at the Sunset Bar and Grill to watch the planes land and folks get blown away by the jets taking off! This was our third time in St. Martin and our first at the Villas on Great Bay. Two weeks wasn't enough time for us, but I know we will return. Doug, the owner, made us feel special and for that we say "thank you". Can't wait to return! Kathy & Otis S. USA

May 2016

Rachel I., Villa #9 - May 28 through June 4, 2016. Great villa in fantastic location !!! The villa was really well equipped with everything we needed to make us feel at home. The views from the balconies were amazing, we really enjoyed a drink late in the evening on the upstairs balcony as the breeze was nice and cooling. The en-suite bathrooms were lovely with nice fluffy towels! We felt safe both on and off the complex and enjoyed our walks home along Front Street after an evening meal, the locals are really friendly. Jim was really helpful and so laid back! Luca has been really helpful throughout our booking and stay and we would all like to thank him very much for allowing us to stay in his beautiful home. Lizzys was our favourite place to eat. Make sure you take time to see the whole island, it is beautiful! Don't miss the restaurants in Grand case in the evening, the Lolos there are great at lunch. If you like unspoiled beaches go to Mullet Bay and Happy Bay. A day out in Anguilla should not be missed, it is paradise!! We would love to return and highly recommend this villa. Rachel I.
Heather K., Villa #2 - Canada May 17 through 24, 2016. Paradise Found !!! This was our 3rd time to St. Maarten and we stayed at the Villas on this trip. The owners were so helpful from beginning to end. The villa was beautiful, clean and had everything we needed during our stay. The pictures do not do it justice! Jim was waiting for us when we arrived and was very helpful during our stay and made us feel very welcome. The location is amazing with so many things to do in Philipsburg. We could walk to Honky Tonk for breakfast and rent a jet ski at the beach in the afternoon. There are so many good restaurants to try such as Chesterfields and Mark's Restaurant. Ocean 82 is a must try in Marigot and the jet ski tour with SXM jet ski tours is a must! Our guide Nicholas was great! If you are thinking of trying this wonderful place, don't think twice.....you will love it!!! Thank you to Doug for helping to make this year's vacation such a success!!! We will definitely be back! Heather K, Canada
Juanita D., Villa #6 - May 4 through 13, 2016. Villas on Great Bay !!! Love it there. All the amenities of home but you're on the beach!! Each villa is different bc they're individually owned and furnished. The complex is gated and locked at all times. They've got security on staff day and night. All villas are equipped with all you need. Best part is you walk out your gate and you choose the refreshing pool or the ocean. Walking distance to everything on Boardwalk or Front St. We've stayed there the last 4 years. Juanita D.
Van T., Villa #9 - Aptos May 10 through 14, 2016. A Great Place to Stay !!! This is my ninth trip to St. Martin and I must say that this is the nicest condo that we have ever rented. It is right on Great Bay- the best swimming beach on the island- the water's edge was about 50 feet from our deck. The view was fantastic- almost hypnotic. Made me want to never leave the deck (maybe that was the rum and cokes). The condo is an easy walk to the shops and restaurants in Philipsburg, not a small matter when in town parking is so difficult. The overall property is in excellent condition with the grounds being kept in great shape. The owner is very easy to work with and provided us with very helpful information on the beaches and attractions of the island. I would highly recommend this property. Van T., Aptos

April 2016

Kevin K., Villa #2 - USA April 30 through May 7, 2016. Perfect Trip !! Absolutely stunning. What a great place for some needed R & R. The villa was beautiful and was well kept and maintained, thanks to Jim, who also made us feel very welcome. This is one place you have to see to really enjoy what god has given us. The perfect place for an island vacation. Everything you need for sun soaked days and dazzling nights. Thank you both. Kevin K, USA
Mary J., Villa #2 - Vestal, NY USA April 3 through 9, 2016. Excellent property, clean, modern, bright, inviting !! Our 2nd time renting Villa #2.....we are coming back next year! Highly recommend...best villa on the premises! Has all the amenities needed for relaxing stay..linens..towels...appliances...full kitchen needs. Very clean and modernized. Quiet and beautiful views....very very relaxing. Just a short walk down the beach to shopping..restaurants...bars..! Thank you for maintaining such a nice villa! Mary J, Vestal NY, USA
Arna I., Villa #9 - USA April 19 through May 3, 2016. This Villa is to Die For !! Every great review you can ever read about this villa is TRUE! Staying here is truly wonderful, from the more than competent manager, to the warm soft waves just off your deck, to the excitement of a Carnival parade. Just far enough away is the shopping/restaurant area on the boardwalk. The beach is so big, but you have it to yourself! White sand, warm clean water, no rocks, no big surf. The villa is air conditioned if you wish, or you can be open to the breeze. Fully equipped with everything you need for a marvelous time! Two weeks went too fast. Would recommend to anyone and everyone!! Arni I, USA

March 2016

Dan G., Villa #5 - Brooklyn, NY March 6 through 19, 2016. Is Anyone Getting Tired of MY Rave Reviews...? Yes, my friends, this is our fourth year here at the villas. We are still debating whether to renew for next year. My wife and I heard through the grapevine that there are other Caribbean islands that we may want to explore;). I don't know if that's true...not when you have all this at the Villas. Being a small piece of the island and gated, we've made such great friendships (even if we do only see them once a year!) with the other guests and owners and it really becomes an extended family. A place like this is sort of "hit or miss" with those that expect the Ritz Carlton, it's not. But it's clean, safe and lots of fun when you gets to mingle around the pool and get to know all of the guests from all parts of the globe. Oh, and another thing you may have read elsewhere, We have ALWAYS stayed in "dreaded" Villa 5. Folks, it's just like home. My wife and I are simple folks. We don't need granite counter tops, marble floors, etc. as some of the other villas boast. It's cozy and has all the conveniences to survive a great vacation. It also was a pleasure dealing with the owner of #5. As "hapywanderer" stated, there is in-bred bickering amongst the owners, but that didn't effect any part of my stay. My objective was to tan, drink heavily, eat, swim and sleep...which I did to the fullest. My only concern, which may sway my continued devotion to the Villas is IF they decide to raise the rates. That would suck. If you REALLY need the extra funds, I'll get you some good stock tips! Dan G., Brooklyn, NY
Paul H., Villa #5 - Kitchener, Canada Feb. 27 through March 5, 2016. Great Week at Villas on Great Bay !! We just returned from a terrific week in St Martin. We stayed at The Villas unit # 5 and had no complaints. The air-conditioning was working fine throughout the place. The kitchen is very well equipped for everything we needed. The blender and Martini shaker got a very good workout. Only criticism could be that the unit is a little dark but what can you do when you don't have side windows. We spent most of our time outside anyway. I hear Doug is going reno it soon to brighten it up also. The Villas are on a busy bay but at the far end from town so you can relax quietly but if you want to get into the fray, it's a short walk down the beach to town with lots of bars and restaurants. We'll definitely be back. Paul H, Kitchener, Canada

February 2016

Sharon H., Villa #9 - Canada Feb. 7 through March 1, 2016. Wonderful Vacation at Villas on Great Bay !! This was our 6th visit to the Villas and our 5th to our favourite villa. The owner is very easy to work with and responds to e-mails in a timely manner. Jim, the manager, was there to help us with anything we needed. The villa is clean, very spacious, and is stocked with all the necessities one would need. Both bedrooms have comfy beds and beautifully appointed new en-suites. You can sit in the breezeway or on the deck and watch all the comings and goings on the beach. We were there for 23 days and saw a wedding; 2 baptisms (amazing to watch) and the marine unit working out their new recruits. We would watch the cruise ships come in to Port while having our coffee on the deck and then watch them leave at night. You can walk down the beach to the restaurants or walk to Philipsburg on Front Street (which we found was a bit cooler walk). If you would rather not go out to eat, you will find two small grocery stores a short walk away which have most supplies you would need but if you want a larger store you can hop on a bus for $2 and go to the Grand Marche or Cost-u-Less. We would walk to the Honky-Tonk restaurant for a bite to eat and a drink in the afternoon. Simon (one of the owners) is amazing to watch while either making drinks or serving the customers with great food – a must restaurant to visit while staying at the Villas. This year we wanted a relaxing vacation and it was just that sitting on the deck; swimming in the ocean or pool and meeting new and old friends. We hope to return next year and stay longer. Sharon H, Canada
Harry B, Villa #6 - New York City, NY Feb. 13 through 20, 2016. Great Stay in Villa #6 !! I have been a long time reader of Trip advisor and plan my holidays based on reviews posted. I realize that there are negative people who are never happy and for some reason derive joy from trying to tarnish someone’s hard efforts to try and make their stay as enjoyable as possible. As a result I will I ignore these posts but when I read the write up about Doug the owner of villas 5 &6 and 12 I had to say something. We just returned from a fantastic stay in Villa #6. We were in the same Villa as last year and we were very impressed with the upgrades that we found upon arrival. The complete Villa was repainted, a new comfortable living room set was there, new mattresses in each bedroom as well as the paintings and pictures on the walls were all new. The kitchen is always fully stocked and functional. These internal improvements complement the already perfect positioning of the Villa #6 on the property as it is the closest to the beach and has a complete and unobstructed view of Great Bay which cannot be replicated by any of the other Villas. Villa #6 also has an additional side window that the other Villas do not have which allows the beautiful trade winds to enter the Villa which took away from the need for constant air conditioning, which was a bonus. The AC worked fine but the natural soothing breezes can’t be beat! The Villas are a gem as they are just a short walk into town where the jewellery is very inexpensive. The common pool is a nice alternative to the ocean and all of guests were quite friendly. Yes we did have an issue but after passing our concern to Jimmy we received a call from Doug a few hours later and problem solved!!! Unfortunately the only trouble in this wonderful paradise is that for some reason the owner of Villa #4, , was constantly in the pool making disparaging remarks about some of the owners. She even harassed my wife to contact Doug which was troublesome to the privacy of the people we were traveling with. This practice should be stopped by the management but it seems to continue unfettered. Besides that, I would highly recommend the Villas to anyone who wants a complete and relaxing holiday. Harry B, New York City, NY USA
Ed & Lori C, Villa #1 - Northfield, NJ, USA Feb. 5 through 12, 2016. You Call This Paradise.....YES !! Rose Marie and Gerard have a lovely villa (villa 1). All the pictures you see, yes, they are for real and more magnifique in person. We cooked breakfast in every day on our time. It's been a hectic year right up to the day we left for PHL airport, so doing nothing for seven days to me was paradise. Bed is comfy, shower is warm, love the light in the handheld. The lanai is relaxing while having my first cup of coffee. All the restaurants and stores needed are within walking distance. We never felt insecure, at the villa, at the deli or on the boardwalk in Philipsburg. Everyone is pleasant. Jim is always around somewhere if you need him. Thank you Jim! Merci Rose Marie and Gerard partager votre maison. We loved villa #1.. no foot traffic. Ed & Lori C., Northfield, NJ USA
Roger & Alayne A, Villa #5 - Vancouver, Canada Feb. 8 through 11, 2016. Beautifully Appointed Villa !! Having seen this from the beach about two years ago, we decided to book and fortunately found the dates we wanted had one opening in Villa #5. It may not be the most recently updated suite (we were told) but the decor is lovely, the position looking out to sea is superb and the pool is situated just to the west of this unit. The unit has everything you would want in a suite - it has two king size bedrooms (one with a balcony looking out to the bay), one and a half bathrooms (with shower) and a fully stocked kitchen. Also TVs and WiFi, air conditioning and a central laundry. One can go right on the beach and swim in the clear water - there is quite a drop-off at the shoreline, which makes getting in and out of the water a bit tricky, but well worth the fight with the waves! Alternatively the pool is lovely, deep at one end and steps at the other. The property around the units is kept very clean and the manager, who lives on site was very helpful when needed. Town centre and plenty of shops are minutes away on foot, but the villas are out of the noisy part of town. This is a real plus if you want some quiet time during the day or night and very few of the cruise passengers come this far along the beach so the beach is quiet too. We have recommended these villas to friends who are coming in May this year and have advised them to book soon. Many of the people we have met here are repeat guests and the word is out that it is a great place to stay, Roger & Alayne, Vancouver, Canada

January 2016

Portland Family, Villa #1 - Portland, USA Jan., 2016. The Most Beautiful Villa !! My wife and I celebrated our honeymoon on Villa 1. We had a wonderful time at this beautiful villa. The location was great for both. I still gave the villa a 5 Stars rating because of its location, view, privacy, clean house, very comfortable, beautiful decoration.... Incredible views of the beach as well as the ocean from every where in the house. A TROPICAL POSTCARD!!!!! We already thinking of who to invite next year when we book this Villa again. ONLY ONE WORD: FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!! Portland, USA
Jeanne & Russ G, Villa #6 - Des Moines, Iowa, USA Jan. 23 through 30, 2016. Beachfront Location, Easy Access, Privacy, Jim&James, What More Could One Want? !! We were late arriving, about midnight; luckily the security guard was making his rounds and contacted Jim to let us in. All restaurants and grocers were closed but there was a Villas on Great Bay welcome basket with wine, cheese & crackers waiting in the fridge. Since we were mostly beer drinkers, Jim had gerry-rigged a cold 6-pack for us. Much appreciated after snowstorm Jason shut down all the East coast airports and we were rerouted thru a 4-airports in 1 day gauntlet. There are 2 local grocery stores only about a block's walk away with all your dry/boxed and canned goods, fruit, veggies, bread & dairy items, snacks, soda/pop, beer, liquor. etc. Meat selections weren't the best. We paid cash so not sure they accept credit cards. Jim lined us up with James, our taxi-guide for a day-trip to circle the island. James was very friendly and informative, knew all the island history, local lore and little-known sites to stop that we wouldn't have been aware of driving a DIY rental car. James 'taxi' is a full-size SUV with good A/C, so was a comfortable & enjoyable ride. He also stopped at Le Grand Marche (giant US-like grocery store) on our way back for additional supplies (mostly beer & grill meat). Prices were noticeably cheaper than the local grocers; but they are closer and don't cost a taxi ride or rental car. With Jim's help we figured out where to jump onto the local bus system close to the villas. Pretty much watch for your sign in the front window, waive them down, tell the driver where you want to get off, yell when you get close and pay $2 as you exit. We caught the Maho bus to watch KLM's 747 jumbo jet land over Maho beach at the airport one day. Another day we bused up to Grand Case to snorkel (you switch buses at Marigot). Note - some of the A/C'd mini/midi-van buses can arrive fairly full, so you may have to wait for another emptier one. (Be aware - the drivers can somehow fit 15 people in a 12 person van). Being a die hard Jimmy Buffett fan; I had to get to Parrothead mecca (St Barths) to down a Cheeseburger in Paradise & cold Carib at Le Select. We looked into local ferries timetables but opted to boat over with Capt Eric and his 1st-mate Carolyn so we could depart and return on our schedule. Views from VGB of huge cruise ships like the Oasis of the Sea (5000+ tourists & 2000 crew) first appearing around the end of the Fort Amsterdam peninsula heading for the docks will grab your attention. The wave action in front of VGB was impressive. Pulls you up & out to sea; then tosses you back towards the shore. Fun exercise, especially getting/crawling back up the shoreline if the tide's going out. Plan on getting sand up your bathing suit, body parts, etc. A lot of the Boardwalk restaurants do close up when the cruise ship crowds depart. The entire Boardwalk was usually deserted by 5PM most days; just us rental-housing tourists and the locals strolling around. There are several restaurants that stay open into the evening. Some places we dined at: Greenhouse, Taloula Mango's, Lizzy's Bar & Grill, Nazca and Antoines. Gelato Milan is definitely worth a stop but closes early, around 6. While Villa #6 only has one shower, it is very large and the hot water heater easily handled all 4 of us. Since this is a gated-community, it took a little trial & error to figure out the gates, doors and safe keys. We discovered (the hard way) that the landline phone in Villa 6's battery would not hold a charge to make calls. Plus Wi-Fi was down, so we had some confusion about when and who could contact James to take us to the airport. But between Jim & James, they last-minute still got us in-route to the airport in under 10 minutes. For some reason Jim sorta reminds me of Capt Jack Sparrow, "Do you think he plans it all out, or just makes some of it up as he goes along?" Whichever, when on Caribbean time, it works. Jeanne & Russ G., Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Ed & Brenda W, Villa #4 - Utica, NY, USA Jan. 25 through Feb. 4, 2016. A Great Vacation !! As repeat guests we again had a great time. The villas are safe and clean and located on the beach at Great Bay with a great view. The owners are hospitable and friendly. Jim, the manager, was as helpful as usual. When we vacation in St. Maarten, the villas are our choice. Ed & Brenda W., Utica, NY USA
Candace W, Villa #9 - Washington DC, USA Jan. 3 through 7, 2016. Surpassed All Expectations !! This place is PHENOMENAL!! I travel over 40 weeks of the year and have stayed at many places and this beautiful condo is amongst the top of the list. The unit was clean, well stocked, right on the water, the layout was great, right on the water, close proximity to restaurants and shopping and did I mention right on the water. This was the third leg of my 22 day vacation and it ended swell. I will make this my annual home for years to come. I also must mention how amazing Jim is as the manager of the property. He was beyond helpful and kind. This place and Jim ROCK!!! Candace W., Washington, DC USA
Keith O, Villa #9 - Connecticut USA Jan 15 through 21, 2016. Beautiful Oceanfront Villa on Great Bay, St. Maarten !! My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay at the Villa. The Villa was clean, the beds were comfortable and the site was right on the beach. What we loved was were the Villa was, close enough to walk to the shops, etc. but far enough away for privacy as well. We enjoyed sitting on the patio having our morning coffee watching the ships come in, looking at the beautiful beach right in front of us. Couldn't get any better. The manager of the Villas, Jim was excellent. He was always available and helpful in every way. My husband and I have been traveling to different Islands and we have to say thus far the Villa is on the top of our list. Keith O., Connecticut USA
Lou A, Villa #9 - Wisconsin USA Jan 8 through 15, 2016. Very Nice Stay !! Our condo was very nice. The newly remodeled bathrooms were beautiful! Being able to sit on our private deck overlooking the bay was wonderful! The Villas on Great Bay were very well kept up and clean. The owner of our condo and the manager were very good to work with and very helpful. Just an FYI for anyone who may choose Sint Maarten after enjoying it for an afternoon off a cruise ship as we did: We expected to walk to the Boardwalk at night for shopping, dinner, and perhaps some music, but soon discovered that when the cruise ships leave, most businesses close. But we managed to find a few and had a very nice time in Sint Maarten. PS Loved the Endless Summer Swimsuit Store! Lou A, Wisconsin USA
Sue M. Villa #2 - Sarnia, Canada Jan. 10 to 19, 2016. Another Amazing Vacation at the Villas !! We just returned from another amazing trip to PARADISE !! This is our 2nd time loving the Villa's and St. Maarten !! We really believe you can't beat it for a Caribbean vacation. This time we stayed in Villa #2 - and LOVED it. Doug, the owner contacted us before, during & after our arrival to make sure if we had any questions or needs he would look after it. The Villa has been renovated and left with a real Caribbean feel. St. Maarten is safe, friendly and has more than any other Caribbean destination we have been too. The Villas offer spotlessly clean grounds, a swimming pool and the most amazing beach on the island. We walked several times a day into town, mingled with all the cruise ship passengers, shopped and enjoyed many of the local restaurants.. All delicious - but Lazy Lizard, Greenhouse & Chesterfields were our favourites. There are many more we are going to try on our next trip - already booked for 2017. We have vacationed on many cruise ships, and all-inclusive Caribbean destinations - NOTHING beats St. Maarten and the location of the Villa's. Thank you Doug for such amazing customer service and sharing your beautiful home away from home !! ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT !! All the Villas are gorgeous - each with a different flare ! Sue M., Sarnia, Canada
Arlene H., Villa #2 & 4 - Shawano, WI, USA Jan. 20 to 25, 2016. Paradise !! We had 4 couples in our group and rented villas #2 and #4. Both were wonderful 2 bedroom and 2 1/2 bath. #2 has recently been renovated with a Caribbean feel and #4 was just renovated with a very modern touch. Both had everything we could possibly need. Doug, the owner of #2, called and e-mailed to ask if we had any questions. Claudette, the owner of #4, was at the complex, in another villa, and asked us many times how everything was going and did we need anything. Thank you both for your concern. It's the location of these villas that make them so great in our eyes. They are located on Great Bay within walking distance to the boardwalk and Front St. with all the shopping, restaurants and bars. No need to rent a car if you don't want to (parking is very limited in front of villas). Jim, the manager, was also very helpful when we needed a question answered. He kept the pool and pool area very clean and there is plenty of outdoor space for everyone. The breezeway provides shade for those who want it. Thanks to all for a great vacation and we look forward to renting again in the future and will highly recommend to friends and family. #2 has king beds with safe in master and #4 has one queen and one king with safe in both bedrooms. Arlene H. Shawano, WI USA
Mary T, Villa #2 - USA Dec 30 through Jan 3, 2016. Fabulous !! Location is quite ideal, as you can walk to the boardwalk and Front St, yet still be away from the hustle and bustle. The grounds are very well maintained. The condo itself is well stocked with anything you might need. The condo owner and property manager provided more than enough info to make our stay comfortable. Both were also available for any questions we had. We would stay here again, in a heartbeat! Mary T, USA
Kim & Ralf, Villa #12 - Germany Dec 18 through Jan 8, 2016. Unforgettable Time !! After our first time on St. Maarten we now completely understand the meaning of \"Friendly Island\" - Thank you for that! Many thanks also to Jim who was always very friendly, funny, uncomplicated, helpful etc.! Our Villa and the complete complex fulfilled absolutely our expectations. Everything was clean and well equipped. Everything day it was a pleasure to walk through the beautiful garden with flowers, trees, coco nut trees and furthermore lovely details. Thank you Jim and thank you St. Maarten for an unforgettable time! Kim & Ralf, Germany

Top of page