Reviews sent to us in 2018 & 2019

We are continuing to populate this section with more of our great reviews. If you've had the pleasure of staying with us in the past and would like to send us your review, please feel free to contact us.

A large portion of our business is based on returning clients who can’t wait to return to the Villas on Great Bay. Read our clients’ enthusiastic reviews in their own words.

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012

January 2019

Bradley T., Villa #9 - Pickering, Ontario January 8 - 15, 2019. Perfect Villa in a Great Location, Just What We Were Looking For !!

We have just returned from a week at The Villas on Great Bay Villa # 9 . It had totally lived up to the reviews I have read on this Villa on line . Great location right on the perfect section of Great Bay Beach .Walking distance to the board walk for shops bars and restaurants . Very relaxing and laid back just what we were looking for .The other guest and residents were fantastic they were really friendly and made us feel very welcome. Wally the property manager, you cannot say enough about him . He was a great part of making our perfect experience . Loved it , Bradley T.
Diane S., Villa #9 - December 30 - January 8, 2019. Fantastic Vacation !!

This was our first visit to the island, so we didn't know what to expect. From start to finish our 10 days were super. The Villas at Great Bay are located on the quiet end of Great Bay beach. The gardens and grounds are kept immaculately and security at the property is a priority. It is not the Ritz Carlton, but instead the perfect relaxed island vibe. Relaxation at its best. Villa #9 is very private as it is an end unit. We think definitely the best location. The covered porch was the perfect spot to enjoy meals, reading, the sound and beauty of the water lapping on shore, the daily arrivals and departures of cruise ships, sailboats, and vacationers enjoying water sports. You literally could sit there enjoying the view all day. When it was time to venture out, it was an easy stroll down the beach for shopping, food and a bucket of beer. Of course, just walking a few steps for a swim was the best. The living areas are very nice with comfortable furniture and the kitchen is updated with plenty of supplies. We cooked many meals, as if we were at home. Enjoyed the covered garden area with a relatively new clean gas grill which we used. A couple of other key items for us: Villa #9 has its own WiFi Router with a great strong signal! And, while they were not used too often because the temperatures were perfect, the 3 A/C units worked well and cooled the rooms very quickly. The property owner was very friendly, honest and extremely responsive. Two Thumbs Up. The Villas feels like a family due in large part to Wally the manager. He goes above and beyond to make sure the guests are comfortable and happy. Upon arrival, when we inquired about the distance to the grocery story (we didn't have a car), he volunteered he was going in his car the next day and we were welcome to go with him. On New Year's Eve, he hosted (cooking food and providing drink) a party for all the guests in the breezeway. It was a perfect way to meet new friends - many who return year after year. Besides providing recommendations and other arrangements during our stay, on our departure day when our taxi did not arrive to take us to the airport, Wally, without hesitation, grabbed his car keys and drove us himself. First Class Service! Wally, no words to say thank you for your great attitude with guests and the huge daily work. Diane S.

December 2018

Renee G, Villa #9 - December 20 - 29, 2018. Relaxing and lovely stay !!

Perfect location on the beach. Great swimming in front of the villa. Close to several restaurants and a little grocery store. Wally the property manager was very helpful. Villa was fully equipped. All the cooking items we needed. Lots of towels. We will be back! Renee G.
Darryl W, Villa #6 - Pinebluff, NC December 21 - 28, 2018. Best Family Vacation Yet !!

Doug, we just wanted to let you know how thankful and grateful we are of you and Norma for letting us share your home and Villa over the last week in St. Maarten. We loved our stay at The Villas (#6). Villa #6 is beautiful!! Proximity to the beach is ridiculously close. Literally feet or meters from your back door. Our host Doug and the property manager, Wally made sure we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay.There are not enough adjectives to describe how nice the place is. Shopping is a few minutes walk from the Villas. Everything was just perfect and we are already making plans for our return. Thanks again for your generous hospitality and making us feel as part of the Villas' family Happy New Year ! Darryl, Jenn, Ryan, & Leah. Pinebluff, NC US
Yuri and Tina K., Villa #2 - Scarborough, Ontario, CANADA December 7 - 14, 2018. This is THE Place to Stay on the Island !!

Sometimes they say: "It's all about a location" … we wish to say: "It is THE place to stay on St.Martin (St.Maarten). A very nice and quiet beach, not disturbed by visitors from cruise liners - and it's literally just 20 steps away from the door. A very well maintained property which has a real feel of a home - from the furniture to utensil to bathrooms to … well … everything! All equipment is in a nice working state. Actually, when there was a general power failure, a diesel generator kicked off right away, so we did not really feel any discomfort. Add to this a full-blown gas stove which does not depend on electricity. A very nice and large fridge with a freezer. Bathrooms are very clean and hot water is NOT in short supply :-) A nice patio … a very nice deep swimming pool .. a BBQ for lovers of ribs and steaks... and it's sooo quiet! There were four of us, including an old lady and a her 6-year old Great Grandson, and the house provided lots of space for everyone. And if wanted to watch a TV or stream video using our PCs and tablets, a cable box and the Internet worked flawlessly (we brought our HDMI cable for convenience). Wally, the property manager, toured us around the whole villa complex, and the house itself. He always was willing to help and assist! We recommend to have a car. It helped us to move around the island, go grocery shopping (oh, the Carrefour Market, we will be remembering the variety of food in it) and easy access from and to the airport. We suggest to NOT buy any GPS program. Use the Google Maps offline map and the Google Maps app will provide you for step-by-step car navigation all right! Would we wish to get back? Absolutely! We liked the place and the island as a whole! We wish to thank the owners of Villa #2 for their choice of everything in the house - and, most of all, for trusting strangers to have a stay in this "home away from home" Yuri and Tina K, Scarborough, Ontario, CANADA

November 2018

Sam S, Villa #9 - November 27 - December 4, 2018. Great Property, Awesome Location !!

I can't say enough about this property. Beautiful place, seconds from the water. Its in an area where the water is generally calm where I have noticed other beaches have much more aggressive waters. Everything updated in the villas, fantastic all the way around. Only thing I noticed was at times, the water did not get super hot in the shower but a very minor thing in comparison to the overall experience of the villa. Sam S.
Lynn S, Villa #2 - November 10 - 17, 2018. Villa 2 - Great Place to Relax and Unwind !!

This was our second time staying in villa 2. There were many updates made after the hurricane, which make it even more beautiful. The villa owner kept us informed of what has been happening on the island throughout the year. We felt completely at home, just relaxing looking out at the bay. Wally, the property manager, is fantastic. He sees to your every need. We will be going back again and again! Lynn S.
Esther J, Villa #9 - November 23 - 26, 2018. Amazing place !!

Prefect place, clean . Very big , direct at the beach, and accommodation has all you need for a perfect stay. Top recommendation Esther J.
Villa #9 - November, 2018. Perfect Vacation Rental !!

Amazing views from the unit. Place has all the comforts you could ask for. Newly remodeled. Easy access to town. Beautiful beach. Wally the manager made us us feel right at home. We can't wait to get back!
Marcel B, Villa #9 - November 14 - 18, 2018. Awesome !!

Perfect place to stay! Wally, the site manager, is doing a fantastic job!! We had a ton of fun! Marcel B.
Ruviënsel M, Villa #7 - Willemstad Curaçao November 13 - 18, 2018. Outstanding Villa !!

The villa was perfect with a beautiful view on great bay, very clean and quiet and an outstanding pool. The villa has security codes and fencing that only the hostages has so you feel safe. One minute walk to the closest grocery and 10 minute walk to the town. Very kindly owner Mrs Rose Marie and manager Walter. With one word an outstanding Villa. Highly recommended. Ruviënsel M. Willemstad Curaçao
Ruth R, Villa #7 - November 3 - 10, 2018. Amazing place! Beautiful, clean, and steps away from the water !!

We loved out stay in Foxy Villa, #7. Beautifully decorated beach theme throughout. Everything we needed, and some we never thought of. Hosts Gerard & Rose Marie were friendly and super helpful. Wally the manager was so nice and helpful. He attended to our small requests and recommended places to eat. Such thoughtful people. But THE BEACH!. Beautiful bay, private and peaceful, views of the cruise ships...Best place we've stayed for sure. A quick walk to the boardwalk, drinks, food shopping. Perfect in every way. We'll be back next year! Ruth R.

October 2018

Cyndi A, Villa #9 - October 10 - 16, 2018. We didn't want to leave !!

We came to St Maarten because it was our favorite island from our honeymoon cruise and we said we would come back one day. Wish it hadn't taken us 22 years! We were so pleased with the Villas on Great Bay because it is directly on the beach, has a pool, is on one end of the bay for more privacy but you can walk to shopping and restaurants along the boardwalk and Front Street. There is a small grocery that you can easily walk to and a full grocery store a short ride away. Villa #9 is nicely decorated and comfortable. Luca, the owner, was prompt in replying and easy to work with. Wally, the property manager, was a big reason we enjoyed our vacation so much. He was very accommodating and helpful. We felt very safe and comfortable. The property is well lit, fully gated with security and cameras. We cooked some of our meals and dined out, as well. We had planned to rent a car but ended up just grabbing a taxi whenever we needed to go further away. All of our taxi drivers were very personable and informative. We went on a snorkeling excursion, rode horses and rode the zipline. We shopped, ate and relaxed. Everywhere we went, we met such nice and interesting people. This vacation was perfect! Cyndi A.
Kathryn A, Villa #2 - September 30 - October 14, 2018. What are You Waiting For !!

This is our 4th time we have stayed in Villa 2 at the Villas on Great Bay and once again it was an amazing holiday. Thanks to the dedicated villa homeowners and Wally, the Manager, the villas are even more outstanding than pre Irma. The new villa sign and color is striking and compliments the exterior color around the pool with new umbrellas and chairs. In Villa 2 the new patio doors offer a breathtaking view of the bay and the cruise ships that visit daily. Doug and Becky the owners were in touch with us to see how things were and if we needed anything. On this visit we again used the public bus service to visit different areas of the island. To get the bus it is a 5 minute walk from the villas and remember they will drop you off where you ask them to on their route and only costs $2.00 per person. It is also a 10 minute walk to Phillipsburg. We were fortunate when our plane landed and needed to get a taxi to be introduced to Jean Pierre 721-554-0756. He stopped at Cost U Less for us to buy some groceries and then took us to the Villas. Jean Pierre is a very courteous driver and is very knowledgeable about the island. He took us to the French side one day but the farm wasn’t open so he took us around the island to places we had never been before. Thank you Jean Pierre. I have saved the best to last and that would be Wally the manager. Wally is the manager of the villas but we also consider him our friend. Wally arranged with Eagle tours for us to go on one of their catamarans for a day trip it was a great outing but it sure was storming that day but it was enjoyed by everyone. Wally took us on a drive one day to show us the island and how Irma had devastated areas but also how the communities are coming back. We went to Marigot and ate at La Main A La Pate and had the best pizza and cold beers. The day before we were leaving we headed to the Orange Cafe on the Boardwalk for a final meal with Wally. It started to rain just as we were ordering and then the monster storm hit. Momma the owner of the cafe insisted we take cover inside as the winds and rain was blowing everything down. I can’t imagine how the children, women and men felt when Irma hit as I was fearful for around 45 minutes. Wally was with us and remained very calm during the storm. The trip was fantastic you couldn’t wish for a better place to stay then the villas and the friends we make will be in our thoughts forever. Thank you Doug and Becky Kathryn A.

September 2018

Julie B, Villa #9 - Toronto, Ontario, Canada September 30 - October 7, 2018. Beautiful Villa on Great Bay !!

We have stayed many times at the Villas on Great Bay and in several different units but our favourite is Villa 9. After the hurricane it was completely remodeled with a new kitchen and living room and it is absolutely beautiful! It is also very quite and more private than the other villas. Wally the property manager is also fantastic and if you need any assistance he will be there to help you. Will be returning again next year to Villa #9.???? Julie B. Toronto, Canada
Ed & Sandy G, Villa #9 - September 17 - 24, 2018. Absolutely Amazing !!

Thank you so much Luka and family for sharing your beautiful home! Arriving we were met by Wally the property manager who was wonderful, he was helpful in every way. Perfect location in the middle of the bay. Couldn’t keep my eyes off of that aqua blue water, could see from every room, even when you are cooking. It was dreamy. Your guide was perfect, we tried a lot of your recommendations and they were all spot on! It is close to all the shopping. I even came home with a aqua marine ring to remind me of my wonderful trip. Ladies, if you like jewelry at a good price this is the place to go. Everyone was so friendly, and I can’t say enough about the infinity pool. Imagine being in pool and looking out to the beach and aqua water, yes it was paradise!!! It was only steps away. We have traveled all over the world but somehow felt so at home here, it was truly magical. Anyone who stays there is truly lucky. So glad we found! I think anyone who stays there will truly be very pleased to say the least. Thanks again for sharing your wonderful home with me and my family. Ed & Sandy G.

August 2018

Jennifer G, Villa #9 - August 8 - 13, 2018. Absolutely Amazing !!

Loved this place! It made our trip amazing. Wally was so inviting and extremely helpful. The property looked terrific despite there being a lot of the island still picking up from the hurricane. The beach and ocean are your backyard. It's walking distance to Front Street either along the street or beach. I can't say enough. We loved it! Jennifer G.

July 2018

Stefanie B, Villa #2 - July 22-29, 2018. Wonderful Time in SXM !!

WoW where do I start this review??!! We stayed at this place for 7 days...... Amazing condo on two floors. We absolutely LOVED it! Bed very comfortable, super clean everywhere and you will find everything you need there!! There are few store around at 40 second walk for when you need water-milk-bread, but we suggest you to stop on your way from the airport to bigger grocery store. The view in front is breath taking! Ocean front, surrounded by mountains. The pool and area around are cleaned every morning. Keep in mind that the Island was recently hit by an Hurricane. This place, compare to most of the island, doesn’t look like they were hit. Palm trees and flowers everywhere, luxurious gardens and clean place is what you will find. Let’s not forget to talk about Wally!! He was always there to help us, answer all of our questions and helped us booking our excursions. We will go back for sure!! Thank you so much for this wonderful vacation! Stefanie B.
Chris & Mary G., Villa #3 - Sugar Land, TX June 30 - July 7, 2018. Really Nice Villa Right on the Beach of Great Bay (After the Storm)!!

We stayed at the Villas On Great Bay in Villa #3 the first week of July 2018. So this review is after Hurricane Irma. The Villa's On Great Bay are in excellent condition. They have done a lot of work to re-do the villas, pool, patio, beach and the exterior of the buildings. BEAUTIFUL view that looks out over the bay. Short walking distance to restaurants, shopping and The Boardwalk. The cruise ships that come and go each day are right out your window. Plenty of things to do, but we mostly enjoyed sitting on the beach, wading in the the bay, swimming in the infinity pool, and sitting in the villa and taking in the beautiful view right outside the patio door. The Villas were the only property (that we could see) that was on the Great Bay Beach that had a pool too. Wally, the Property Manager, was helpful and knowledgeable about the island. Thank you Wally very much for all you did to help us have a great stay this past week ! We loved Villa 3 and can see that you have done a wonderful job getting the property back into great condition. The only thing we didn't like about the Villas was that we had to leave at the end of our trip. I think you will like the Villas and St. Maarten too. Chris & Mary G. Sugar Land, TX, US

June 2018

Stacy L., Villa #9 - June 18-22, 2018. Amazing Beach Home !!

My family rented Villa # 9 from June 18-22, 2018. I have to admit that we were a bit nervous about how the trip was going to be after the hurricane. There were a few times that we debated about possibly canceling the trip, but the owner assured us that the house would be ready in time. We could not have been happier with our decision to go. The house was beautiful. Everything on the first floor was brand new. The views from the decks on both floors were incredible. It was so relaxing to just sit on your private deck and watch the cruise ships arrive and depart each day. Wally, the Property Manager, is awesome. He was outside waiting for us when we pulled up. He does an excellent job taking care of the place. Every time I had a question or a concern it was addressed immediately. Luca, the owner, is the same way. We had booked this trip prior to the hurricane. So over the course of the past 9 months, we emailed Luca several times to see how things were moving along, and I always received a response within a few hours - usually within an hour. There are still a lot of hotels and homes that need repair or a complete rebuild, but despite all the destruction, every person that we spoke to could not have been friendlier. As for the food, I can not rave enough about how delicious everything was. There are so many great restaurants to choose from - especially in Simpson Bay. Which is just a few minutes drive from Phillipsburg. I would highly recommend renting a car. It gave us the freedom to come and go as we pleased. A few of our excursions were within walking distance of the house, but for everything else, it would have been inconvenient (and expensive) to call a taxi each time we wanted to go somewhere. We have 2 teenage daughters and they both agreed this was our best vacation yet. Stacy L.

October 2017

The Villas on Great Bay were closed after hurricane Irma struck the island on Sept. 6, 2017. We have done a tremendous amount of repairs and upgrades to our resort and we have re-opened May 1, 2018.

Top of page