Reviews sent to us in 2018

We are continuing to populate this section with more of our great reviews. If you've had the pleasure of staying with us in the past and would like to send us your review, please feel free to contact us.

A large portion of our business is based on returning clients who can’t wait to return to the Villas on Great Bay. Read our clients’ enthusiastic reviews in their own words.

2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012

November 2018

Marcel B, Villa #9 - November 14 - 18, 2018. Awesome !!

Perfect place to stay! Wally, the site manager, is doing a fantastic job!! We had a ton of fun! Marcel B.
Ruviënsel M, Villa #7 - Willemstad Curaçao November 13 - 18, 2018. Outstanding Villa !!

The villa was perfect with a beautiful view on great bay, very clean and quiet and an outstanding pool. The villa has security codes and fencing that only the hostages has so you feel safe. One minute walk to the closest grocery and 10 minute walk to the town. Very kindly owner Mrs Rose Marie and manager Walter. With one word an outstanding Villa. Highly recommended. Ruviënsel M. Willemstad Curaçao
Ruth R, Villa #7 - November 3 - 10, 2018. Amazing place! Beautiful, clean, and steps away from the water !!

We loved out stay in Foxy Villa, #7. Beautifully decorated beach theme throughout. Everything we needed, and some we never thought of. Hosts Gerard & Rose Marie were friendly and super helpful. Wally the manager was so nice and helpful. He attended to our small requests and recommended places to eat. Such thoughtful people. But THE BEACH!. Beautiful bay, private and peaceful, views of the cruise ships...Best place we've stayed for sure. A quick walk to the boardwalk, drinks, food shopping. Perfect in every way. We'll be back next year! Ruth R.

October 2018

Cyndi A, Villa #9 - October 10 - 16, 2018. We didn't want to leave !!

We came to St Maarten because it was our favorite island from our honeymoon cruise and we said we would come back one day. Wish it hadn't taken us 22 years! We were so pleased with the Villas on Great Bay because it is directly on the beach, has a pool, is on one end of the bay for more privacy but you can walk to shopping and restaurants along the boardwalk and Front Street. There is a small grocery that you can easily walk to and a full grocery store a short ride away. Villa #9 is nicely decorated and comfortable. Luca, the owner, was prompt in replying and easy to work with. Wally, the property manager, was a big reason we enjoyed our vacation so much. He was very accommodating and helpful. We felt very safe and comfortable. The property is well lit, fully gated with security and cameras. We cooked some of our meals and dined out, as well. We had planned to rent a car but ended up just grabbing a taxi whenever we needed to go further away. All of our taxi drivers were very personable and informative. We went on a snorkeling excursion, rode horses and rode the zipline. We shopped, ate and relaxed. Everywhere we went, we met such nice and interesting people. This vacation was perfect! Cyndi A.
Kathryn A, Villa #2 - September 30 - October 14, 2018. What are You Waiting For !!

This is our 4th time we have stayed in Villa 2 at the Villas on Great Bay and once again it was an amazing holiday. Thanks to the dedicated villa homeowners and Wally, the Manager, the villas are even more outstanding than pre Irma. The new villa sign and color is striking and compliments the exterior color around the pool with new umbrellas and chairs. In Villa 2 the new patio doors offer a breathtaking view of the bay and the cruise ships that visit daily. Doug and Becky the owners were in touch with us to see how things were and if we needed anything. On this visit we again used the public bus service to visit different areas of the island. To get the bus it is a 5 minute walk from the villas and remember they will drop you off where you ask them to on their route and only costs $2.00 per person. It is also a 10 minute walk to Phillipsburg. We were fortunate when our plane landed and needed to get a taxi to be introduced to Jean Pierre 721-554-0756. He stopped at Cost U Less for us to buy some groceries and then took us to the Villas. Jean Pierre is a very courteous driver and is very knowledgeable about the island. He took us to the French side one day but the farm wasn’t open so he took us around the island to places we had never been before. Thank you Jean Pierre. I have saved the best to last and that would be Wally the manager. Wally is the manager of the villas but we also consider him our friend. Wally arranged with Eagle tours for us to go on one of their catamarans for a day trip it was a great outing but it sure was storming that day but it was enjoyed by everyone. Wally took us on a drive one day to show us the island and how Irma had devastated areas but also how the communities are coming back. We went to Marigot and ate at La Main A La Pate and had the best pizza and cold beers. The day before we were leaving we headed to the Orange Cafe on the Boardwalk for a final meal with Wally. It started to rain just as we were ordering and then the monster storm hit. Momma the owner of the cafe insisted we take cover inside as the winds and rain was blowing everything down. I can’t imagine how the children, women and men felt when Irma hit as I was fearful for around 45 minutes. Wally was with us and remained very calm during the storm. The trip was fantastic you couldn’t wish for a better place to stay then the villas and the friends we make will be in our thoughts forever. Thank you Doug and Becky Kathryn A.

September 2018

Julie B, Villa #9 - Toronto, Ontario, Canada September 30 - October 7, 2018. Beautiful Villa on Great Bay !!

We have stayed many times at the Villas on Great Bay and in several different units but our favourite is Villa 9. After the hurricane it was completely remodeled with a new kitchen and living room and it is absolutely beautiful! It is also very quite and more private than the other villas. Wally the property manager is also fantastic and if you need any assistance he will be there to help you. Will be returning again next year to Villa #9.???? Julie B. Toronto, Canada
Ed & Sandy G, Villa #9 - September 17 - 24, 2018. Absolutely Amazing !!

Thank you so much Luka and family for sharing your beautiful home! Arriving we were met by Wally the property manager who was wonderful, he was helpful in every way. Perfect location in the middle of the bay. Couldn’t keep my eyes off of that aqua blue water, could see from every room, even when you are cooking. It was dreamy. Your guide was perfect, we tried a lot of your recommendations and they were all spot on! It is close to all the shopping. I even came home with a aqua marine ring to remind me of my wonderful trip. Ladies, if you like jewelry at a good price this is the place to go. Everyone was so friendly, and I can’t say enough about the infinity pool. Imagine being in pool and looking out to the beach and aqua water, yes it was paradise!!! It was only steps away. We have traveled all over the world but somehow felt so at home here, it was truly magical. Anyone who stays there is truly lucky. So glad we found! I think anyone who stays there will truly be very pleased to say the least. Thanks again for sharing your wonderful home with me and my family. Ed & Sandy G.

August 2018

Jennifer G, Villa #9 - August 8 - 13, 2018. Absolutely Amazing !!

Loved this place! It made our trip amazing. Wally was so inviting and extremely helpful. The property looked terrific despite there being a lot of the island still picking up from the hurricane. The beach and ocean are your backyard. It's walking distance to Front Street either along the street or beach. I can't say enough. We loved it! Jennifer G.

July 2018

Stefanie B, Villa #2 - July 22-29, 2018. Wonderful Time in SXM !!

WoW where do I start this review??!! We stayed at this place for 7 days...... Amazing condo on two floors. We absolutely LOVED it! Bed very comfortable, super clean everywhere and you will find everything you need there!! There are few store around at 40 second walk for when you need water-milk-bread, but we suggest you to stop on your way from the airport to bigger grocery store. The view in front is breath taking! Ocean front, surrounded by mountains. The pool and area around are cleaned every morning. Keep in mind that the Island was recently hit by an Hurricane. This place, compare to most of the island, doesn’t look like they were hit. Palm trees and flowers everywhere, luxurious gardens and clean place is what you will find. Let’s not forget to talk about Wally!! He was always there to help us, answer all of our questions and helped us booking our excursions. We will go back for sure!! Thank you so much for this wonderful vacation! Stefanie B.
Chris & Mary G., Villa #3 - Sugar Land, TX June 30 - July 7, 2018. Really Nice Villa Right on the Beach of Great Bay (After the Storm)!!

We stayed at the Villas On Great Bay in Villa #3 the first week of July 2018. So this review is after Hurricane Irma. The Villa's On Great Bay are in excellent condition. They have done a lot of work to re-do the villas, pool, patio, beach and the exterior of the buildings. BEAUTIFUL view that looks out over the bay. Short walking distance to restaurants, shopping and The Boardwalk. The cruise ships that come and go each day are right out your window. Plenty of things to do, but we mostly enjoyed sitting on the beach, wading in the the bay, swimming in the infinity pool, and sitting in the villa and taking in the beautiful view right outside the patio door. The Villas were the only property (that we could see) that was on the Great Bay Beach that had a pool too. Wally, the Property Manager, was helpful and knowledgeable about the island. Thank you Wally very much for all you did to help us have a great stay this past week ! We loved Villa 3 and can see that you have done a wonderful job getting the property back into great condition. The only thing we didn't like about the Villas was that we had to leave at the end of our trip. I think you will like the Villas and St. Maarten too. Chris & Mary G. Sugar Land, TX, US

June 2018

Stacy L., Villa #9 - June 18-22, 2018. Amazing Beach Home !!

My family rented Villa # 9 from June 18-22, 2018. I have to admit that we were a bit nervous about how the trip was going to be after the hurricane. There were a few times that we debated about possibly canceling the trip, but the owner assured us that the house would be ready in time. We could not have been happier with our decision to go. The house was beautiful. Everything on the first floor was brand new. The views from the decks on both floors were incredible. It was so relaxing to just sit on your private deck and watch the cruise ships arrive and depart each day. Wally, the Property Manager, is awesome. He was outside waiting for us when we pulled up. He does an excellent job taking care of the place. Every time I had a question or a concern it was addressed immediately. Luca, the owner, is the same way. We had booked this trip prior to the hurricane. So over the course of the past 9 months, we emailed Luca several times to see how things were moving along, and I always received a response within a few hours - usually within an hour. There are still a lot of hotels and homes that need repair or a complete rebuild, but despite all the destruction, every person that we spoke to could not have been friendlier. As for the food, I can not rave enough about how delicious everything was. There are so many great restaurants to choose from - especially in Simpson Bay. Which is just a few minutes drive from Phillipsburg. I would highly recommend renting a car. It gave us the freedom to come and go as we pleased. A few of our excursions were within walking distance of the house, but for everything else, it would have been inconvenient (and expensive) to call a taxi each time we wanted to go somewhere. We have 2 teenage daughters and they both agreed this was our best vacation yet. Stacy L.

October 2017

The Villas on Great Bay were closed after hurricane Irma struck the island on Sept. 6, 2017. We have done a tremendous amount of repairs and upgrades to our resort and we have re-opened May 1, 2018.

Top of page