Reviews sent to us in 2024

We are continuing to populate this section with more of our great reviews. If you've had the pleasure of staying with us in the past and would like to send us your review, please feel free to contact us.

A large portion of our business is based on returning clients who can’t wait to return to the Villas on Great Bay. Read our clients’ enthusiastic reviews in their own words.

2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 |

January 2024

Jerry R., Villa #2 - December 30 - January 6, 2024 New Years 2024 !!

Our villa was awesome! Great location and very nice views. We liked the cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, and listing accuracy. Jerry R.
Lilly L., Villa #5 - Rochester, NY January 13 - 21, 2024 Wonderful! Beautiful!! Safe! Great views !!

Our stay in Villa 5 was terrific ! Serge the property manager is excellent with attention to detail and the villa was very clean on arrival and we had a wonderful stay. This is our 3rd time staying at this property and it never looked better !!! Thank you Serge for an incredible stay and we can’t wait to come back soon!! Lilly L.

December 2023

Candi G., Villa #2 - December 26 - 30, 2023 Most Amazing Owner and a Great Property !!

From the moment of booking, Doug has been incredibly attentive, responsive and helpful. He provides a comprehensive packet of information, recommendations to local stores, charters, amenities, generous coupons and anything else you could ever need. Serge, the property manager, is equally charming and helpful with all of your needs. The property is gorgeous, comfortable and well-appointed. Couldn’t have had a better experience. We will be back. Candi G.

November 2023

T.S., Villa #2 - November 21 - 28, 2023 Nice Place !!

Spacious and clean, all amenities needed for a nice trip. Wally was great and very helpful. T.S.
Robert A., Villa #2 - November 4 - 8, 2023 Nice Property, Great Location !!

Overall this property is great! The location is prime at the far end of the beach in Phillipsburg on Great Bay. Close enough to walk into town to all of the bars, eateries and shopping but far enough away to be quite peaceful. The unit was well stocked with the necessary equipment and even had some food/drink supplies in the small bar and kitchen. The onsite manager (Wally) was fantastic, helpful and very helpfull with island information. He checked in with us daily to see if everything was OK. The small pool was nice in the morning or evening and overlooks the beach! Robert A.

October 2023

Otis S., Villa #2 - October 14 - 21, 2023 Our 2nd Visit !!

This was our 2nd time staying in Villa # 2. The property is beautiful and all amenities are as stated. Wally was very attentive to our needs. We had to cut our stay by 2 days as Hurricane Tammy was bearing down and our scheduled flight was cancelled. We love St Maarten and hope to return for a third visit. Otis S.
Chris D., Villa #9 - October 14 - 20, 2023 Exactly What We Needed/Wanted !!

Right on the ocean, great views, super weather, steps away from the boardwalk and shopping, super helpful staff with great recomendations. Everything about our week was superb!! Chris D.
Mark M., Villa #2 - Lakeland, FL October 1 - 8, 2023 Great Stay on Great Bay !!

The Villas are perfect. Very nicley furnished , excetionally clean and very secure.Well equipped kitchen. Location is perfect. Very quiet, away from cruise ship traffic yet close enough that you can walk into town. Great Bay Market is just across the street. Super convenient with prices comparable to the large store. Great fresh bread daily. Doug is a super host, with excellent communication. Wally, the manager for our villa is amazing. Great personality and there immediatley if you need him. We looked forward to his visit every morning and evening as he checked that all was okay. We are already planning our next. You'll live it. Mark M.

July 2023

Emily R., Villa #2 - July 15 - 22, 2023 Paradise in SXM !!

My family and I stayed in Doug and Becky's villa on Great Bay for a week in July 2023, and it was everything we could have asked for. This property is located directly on the beach, a short walk away from grocery stores, beach clubs, shopping, restaurants and bars, and more. The pool and surrounding grounds are kept clean and the view is beautiful from the oceanfront patio. We would absolutely stay here again! Emily R.

July 2023

Villa #2 - July 8 - 15, 2023 First Time Visitors !!

We had a wonderful time. Everything was neat and clean the view is fantastic. The grounds are just as the pictures show. The pictures that we saw on vrbo were exactly what we got. The check in was super simple. Wally met us at the gate, showed us to our apt, showed us how to work the tv/cable, turn the lights on and off and answered any questions we had. We walked to most places. Is safe. The people are very friendly. Spent a lot of time in the pool. Is very clean. There's plenty to do and see. Would recommend Doug and Becky's place to anyone.
Stacy L., Villa #2 - June 28 - July 8, 2023 Great stay !!

We had a wonderful stay and didn’t want to leave! Excellent location. Doug and Wally were great! Stacy L.

June 2023

Joseph N., Villa #2 - June 2 - 8, 2023 Wonderful Experience !!

We had a fabulous trip and couldn't be more pleased. The description of the property and the helpful staff (especially Wally) was incredible. We look forward to returning. Thanks for a great experience. Joseph N.
Alla C., Villa #7 - May 31 - June 5, 2023 Will Definitely Come Again !!

Beautiful, very convenient location, great interior and perfect private beach right outside of the vila. Very welcoming, friendly and helpful owner who gave us a lots of good advices about our food and entertainment options. It was fantastic vacation overall! Alla C.
Brad A, - Severn, Maryland June 2023 Great Place to Stay !!

You have an entire condo to yourself. You can cook for yourself, or head downtown to many restaurants. You are right on the bay. Can swim there or in the pool. The landscaping is very nice - flowers, lizards of many sizes, and the occasional coconut falling out of the trees. :) The Villas manger is very helpful and great to have a conversation. Brad A.

May 2023

Sharon V, Villa #3 - May 11 - 18, 2023 Best Location !!

We just spent another great week at the "Villas". This was our third stay over the past 5 years. You just can't beat the location right on the beach and also a few steps away from everything in Phillipsburg: shopping, restaurants, history, etc. Wally, the onsite Manager is wonderful and always available if you need him. We have stayed in Villa # 4 twice and this time Villa # 3. Both are beautiful, well maintained, and well stocked in the kitchen. At this point it feels like coming home! There is a wonderful small pool just steps from your veranda, and of course the beach is only a few more steps and all yours. The villas have beach chairs and umbrellas available for the beach as well as loungers around the pool. There is a small grocery store across the street with just about everything you need. We especially enjoyed the fresh baked bread and pastries! We had a car and I highly recommend getting a rental car and exploring the island and the different beaches. These days with Sargassum plaguing the entire Caribbean, you need to be flexible and able to go to different beaches. There are so many to pick from on St. Maarten/St. Martin. We did not see any seaweed on Great Bay while we were there, so I don't think you have to be concerned about it at the Villas. We ate out most days at least for Dinner or a late lunch. So many great restaurants, but a couple of our favorites on the Dutch side are Chesterfield's in Phillipsburg, especially for the sunset; Indigo Beach Bar for lunch, Zee Best and the St. Maarten Yacht Club in Simpson Bay for breakfast; Karacters Beach Bar on Simpson Bay Beach for Lunch/Dinner. Just also want to say a word about Majesty Jewelers. They had provided a gift bag in our Refrigerator so we stopped by to see them on Front Street in Phillipsburg. I have been buying jewelry in St. Maarten for years now, and I have to say I really like Majesty!! They were the right mix of helpful but not pushy and they had a nice selection of jewelry. Just go to the Villas on Great Bay if you want to enjoy a beautiful Villas on a lovely beach, and have the ability to walk to restaurants, shopping, etc. It's perfect. Sharon V.

April 2023

Santiago I, Villa #7 - April 18 - 22, 2023 Best Location !!

The location in Philipsburg is the best, the rest of the hotels are very mediocre, this place is wonderful, facing the beach, away from the port where the big cruisers arrive and also has a pool to bathe while watching the sea. What more can you ask for??? Santiago I.
Mary J, Villa #2 - Vestal, US March 28 - April 5, 2023 Best Vacation Ever !!

We waited for 3 years (due to COVID) to get back to one of our favorite places on earth!! Worth the wait!! Beautiful weather and accommodations! Place looked great!! Thanks! Mary J.
Mardi C, Villa #7 - March 25 - April 1, 2023 Vacation was Fabulous !!

Having the beach/sea right out our door was absolutely fantastic. Short walk to boardwalk Mardi C.

March 2023

HD19741, Villa #2 - March, 2023 Beautiful Villas Right on the Beach !!

This is a wonderful location right on the beach with easy walking access to all bars restaurants. We have been twice with friends and in 2024 after a week on the Star clipper we will be spending another week in villa 2. The villas are all beautifully furnished with a great outside eating area with private pool ( shared with the other villas). Wally, the onsite superintendent is extremely helpful with all your needs. Recommended trips are on one of the big Catamarans. Easy to take the local buses up to the French side, good for shopping!. The Dutch side is certainly less expensive and does have local shopping. You don’t need a car, hire one for a day. Local,buses are very good. HD19741
Bob C., Villa #9 - March 14 - 18, 2023 A Slice of Paradise !!

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property and the unit was perfect. We strolled into town each day and loved mingling with the locals. The market across the street was very convenient and their freshly baked breads were fabulous. Wally, the local contact was very nice and helpful. We will definitely be back someday. Bob C.
Elizabeth R., Villa #7 - February 26 - March 4, 2023 Relax With Family in Paradise !!

Perfect location! Well equipped villa, quiet place, lovely owner, highly recommend. Elizabeth R.
North Nova, Villa #4 - March 2023 Excellent Stay !!

Excellent 10 day stay in Villa#4. This villa is, in our opinion the best in the complex and the owners are fantastic. You can’t ask for a better spot to enjoy all Sint Maarten has to offer. Some would say the Villas On Great Bay are paradise in paradise and we would agree. Perfect location allowing seclusion and within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in Philipsburg. The onsite manager is the best, extremely helpful and made sure our stay was perfect, he is a great resource and excellent ambassador for the island. We would return in a minute, definitely book if you can ! North Nova
Lisa A. Villa #6 - March 12 - 19, 2023 Perfect Location !!

Perfect location, walking distance to everything. Wally goes out if his way to make your holiday perfect, and he achieves it! Villas are comfortable and clean, pool is a real plus. We'll definitely be back. Lisa A.
Richard S. Villa #2 - Williamsville, NY March 4 - 11, 2023 Great Property and Stay !!

Property, grounds, and property manager were fantastic. Very well supplied, beach was great, pool very clean. Interaction with Host was easy and comprehensive. Walking distance to Boardwalk and great restaurants. Great value for what was provided. Richard S.

February 2023

Paul R. Villa #2 - February 13 - 17, 2023 Would Love to go Back Today !!

Ideal location . Wonderful accommodations . Everything we needed was tbere.. Host went out of his way to make sure we had all of the island info we needed, which was extremely helpful. The on-site Manager was the best, Helped us at every turn. Stay somewhere else, and you will miss this unbelievable deal . Paul R.
Don D. Villa #7 Foxie - Canada January 29 - February 5, 2023 Perfect Property for a Couple of Couples or Family !!

The location of this unit is excellent, steps from an outstanding beach and a large semi-private patio area. The layout and size of this unit is perfect for a couple of couples or families. The host was very informative and responded quickly with any concerns. Don D.
Randall M. Villa #7 Foxie - US February 10 - 19, 2023 Wonderful !!

Wonderful stay. Randall M.

January 2023

Michel B. Villa #2 - January 26 - Feb 2, 2023 Excellent Host and Location !!

Very comfortable unit with scenic location. Easy access to beach and town. We felt very safe. Michel B.
W. Villa #7 Foxie - January 7 - 14, 2023 Very Good !!

Very Good W.

December 2022

Suzanne H. Villa #2 - December 20 - 27, 2022 Best Christmas with my family !!

Everything about our stay was perfect. Looking forward to coming again and do more exploring. Suzanne H.

Top of page