Reviews sent to us in 2019

We are continuing to populate this section with more of our great reviews. If you've had the pleasure of staying with us in the past and would like to send us your review, please feel free to contact us.

A large portion of our business is based on returning clients who can’t wait to return to the Villas on Great Bay. Read our clients’ enthusiastic reviews in their own words.

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 |

April 2019

Robert B., Villa #7 Foxie - Canada March 30 - April 6, 2019. Beautiful Villa Foxie !!

Nous revenons d'une semaine au soleil dans cette superbe villa. Des hôtes accueillants et un manager local (Wally) toujours disponible. Les commerces sont pratiquement tous ouverts à Phillipsburg (les jours où les bateaux de croisières se pointent). Site agréable avec la plage à deux pas; On se baigne donc 4-5 fois par jours. Les lieux sont tranquille et à 15 min à pied le long de la plage des commerces et restaurants.

We returned from a week in the sun in this beautiful villa. Welcoming hosts and a local manager (Wally) were always available. The shops are almost all open in Philipsburg (the days when the cruise ships come in). Pleasant location with the beach just steps away; We swam 4-5 times a day. The area is quiet and 15 minutes walk along the beach to the shops and restaurants.

Robert B. Canada

March 2019

Nicole P., Villa #7 Foxie - March 20 - 27, 2019. Amazing Stay in Villa Foxie !!

One of the best Villa on the Island. We had a nice time. Thank you Rose Marie. All perfect. Nicole P.
Meredith W., Villa #9 - March 23 - 26, 2019. Perfect Getaway !!

I booked Villa #9 very last minute (the day before our arrival) and the owner was very quick to respond and help finalize the details for our arrival. Wally, the property manager, greeted us as soon as we arrived and showed us to the villa which looks even more beautiful than it does in the pictures. The villa was updated and had more than enough space for 3 adults. The pool in the complex was nice and the beach is only steps away. In addition, Wally was a huge help in recommending places to eat, buy groceries and he even helped to book us a catamaran tour. I don't think that there is anything that we would change, other than to stay longer! We would 100% return to Villa #9. Meredith W.
Ellen H., Villa #9 - March 2 - 23, 2019. Villas on Great Bay !!

This was our fourth time at the Villas, villa 9 is our favorite. Thank you Lucia for sharing your villa. Thanks to Wally the on site manager. Thanks for all your help when we had an emergency, Wally was right there to help us, over and above his duties, he also checks on everyone every day. The views from Villa 9 are awesome, cruise ships coming and going, beautiful sun rise and awesome sunsets. The newly done over downstairs was very nice, the pullout sofa bed was great as my husband cannot do the stairs. Ellen, from Va. Pat from Ma. Ellen H.
Paul M., Villa #2 - March 20 - 24, 2019. Excellent, as advertised !!

What a wonderful stay! EXACTLY as promised, the villa was in a great location, clean and safe, and well stocked with everything kitchen-related. Locate on an excellent beach, with groceries nearby, restaurants(good ones) galore, and friendly locals. Caretaker Wally was always on hand and available for directions or referrals (food, taxi's, etc), and owner Doug's attention to detail is everywhere. Previous reviews have it right: you really do get what is advertised, it really is "that good", you will not be disappointed! Paul M.
Kathy M., Villa #2 - March 9 - 16, 2019. Amazing Family Vacation!!! Perfect Location !!

Our family of four stayed at this beautiful villa for one fantastic week and totally had the best time. Absolute perfect location, with amazing views, a short walk to great restaurants, shopping, casinos and the beautiful boardwalk. A small grocery store right around the corner, stocked with a variety. Thank you, Doug and Becky, for opening your beautiful home to us and for checking in on us to make sure all was good. Everything was perfect from start to finish and the communication with Dough was excellent. He called and introduced himself, we chatted, and he was very easy to talk with. Many emails followed with valuable information and more phone calls. Doug goes above and beyond the call of duty. Doug and Becky think of everything possible to inform us before arrival that enables all to have the best vacation possible and it worked. Upon arriving we were met by Wally, the property manage, who helped with our luggage and escorted us to our villa. He gave us the tour and showed us how to operate what was necessary. He told us to have fun enjoy and if we needed anything at all do not hesitate to call on him. The welcome items in fridge was a nice gesture and much appreciated. Wally is friendly and offers knowledge on all aspect of the island. The delivery of the local newspaper early each morning was a great touch that I looked forward to. I am an early riser and enjoyed reading the paper on the patio and watching the ships come in. Wally would come by at least twice a day to check on us and make sure all was good. Thank you, Wally, for all that you do and keep doing to make each and everyone's stay a success. The villa is perfect, spacious, beautiful, peaceful and bright. Fully stocked kitchen, bedrooms, bathrooms. The entire villas has everything one could possible need and so much more. The beds are super comfortable and everyone had a good night sleep each and every night. The view from every angle was breathtaking. Amazing beach, with the beautiful ocean which we prefer and not busy at all. Love the short walk out the gate and you are right on the beach. The gated complex is a bonus, the grounds are beautifully kept. There is so much to see and do or as little as you want and it's all at your fingertips at The Villas on Great Bay. Too much greatness to write about and will highly recommend this property. We look forward to our visit next year. Thanks once again to Doug, Becky and Wally. ABSOLUTE GEM IN PARADISE!!! Kathy M.
Lisa H., Villa #1 Rose - March 17 - 31, 2019. Awesome Vacation !!

Love the space we had , the view was beautiful, the people here are friendly. Loved everything Lisa H.

February 2019

Sharon H., Villa #9 - February 2 - 28, 2019. Back To Paradise !!

We recently returned from a wonderful 4 week stay In Villa #9. First of all, we can't say enough about Luca (the owner) who always responds quickly to any questions or requests, and Wally (the manager) who was very informative and helpful throughout our vacation. This was not our first time to Villa 9 and certainly will not be our last. As we entered Villa #9 through the side garden area we knew we were back in Paradise. The renovations in the Villa are superb The kitchen has a beautiful island where we could cook and have a direct view of the ocean - new appliances; dishes; cutlery etc. completes the kitchen reno. The first floor as well as the side garden area has new flooring. There is a new shower in the garden area which my husband used often. New furniture in the living area and new sliding doors with a screen door and hurricane shutters. New mattresses arrived the day we were leaving. What more could we ask for? A lanai for having breakfast while watching the cruise ships come in to port or sunbathing on the upper or lower deck. Oh yes, the ocean is only a few feet from the deck. The Villa is decorated with beach/ocean prints and a carved wooden man on the staircase and one under the stairs. The fencing around the Villas is new and higher and painted to blend with the turquoise ocean. We gathered around the pool with old friends and new ones we met. Our daughter, my sister and brother-in-law (both who travel a lot) joined us for part of our vacation and decided that the Villas were the only place they wanted to vacation in the future. Only a few minutes walk will take you to Phillipsburg and the boardwalk with all the shops, restaurants and bars but at the Villa, it is peaceful. Sitting in the Lanai listening to a great SXM station with mixed music; watching the comings and goings on the ocean was magical. Thank-you Luca for sharing your Villa with us for this vacation, the past vacations and the future vacations. Sharon H.
Joyce and Fred S., Villa #7 Foxie - February 12 - 26, 2019. Beautiful Stay in Villa Foxie !!

We were very happy staying in Villa Foxie, this year, and look forward to next Feb, 2020. You were very gracious and fun to talk to and the villa is very nicely decorated and functional. We extremely enjoyed that it is one of the more private villas, but also very convenient to the pool. We look forward to seeing you next year if you are there. Joyce and Fred S.
Harry B., Villa #2 - February 2 - 16, 2019. Wonderful 2 Weeks !!

This was our second 2 week stay at the Villas. Unit 2 was in fine shape after the hurricane. The unit provided for all our needs and the manager Wally was very helpful and available. We highly recommend #2. Harry B.
Dave and Kelly F., Villa #7 Foxie - Eighty Four, PA February 4 - 12, 2019. Perfect Place for a Beach Vacation !!

We LOVED Villa Foxie! The villa is lovely & comfortable with a nice beach feel. Everything you need is there like beach towels, lounges, umbrella, coolers. The kitchen has plenty of supplies. We stayed in the ocean facing bedroom so we could listen to the waves. The upper deck with chairs & lounges is a great place to relax in the morning and at night. It gets full sun in the afternoon if you prefer a little more private sunbathing. We enjoyed having breakfast on the back patio everyday. We spent time on the beach & on the patio lounging under the umbrella. There's nothing better than being right on the beach! It's a short walk up the beach to the restaurants/bars/shops on the boardwalk & Front St. Cruise ships are in everyday, but the villa is situated a little away from the beach crowds. Rose Marie, the owner, is lovely and welcomed us with warmth & a wonderful bottle of wine. Wally, the property manager, is friendly & helpful. Both are available if you need anything.or have questions. Wally also picked up lobsters one day for guests & prepped them for us to grill. What a treat! We had a wonderful vacation...and may be back next year! Dave and Kelly F. Eighty Four, PA US

January 2019

Amy K., Villa #7 Foxie - December 31 - January 5, 2019. Beautiful Villa Foxie !!

The best New Year. Beautiful fireworks directly on the beach,front the Villa Foxie. A beautiful stay, too short in one of the most beautiful villas. Thank you Rose Marie for your kindness and welcome. Amy K.
Tracy J., Villa #5 - December 20 - January 5, 2019. Back Better Than Ever !!

This was our first time back after the hurricane. Wally has done such a great job restoring the Villas. The villas we stayed in over Christmas had a brand new kitchen, the water heaters are working well, wifi was up and running, the pool was better than ever! Phillipsburg opens up when the ships are in but isn't staying open very much past that. We used Wallys recommendation on groceries and rental car. So happy the villas made it through. Its one of our top places to go to relax! Tracy J.
Kim B., Villa #2 - Chatham, Canada January 17 - 31, 2019. Relaxation With an Amazing View !!

My friends and I stayed in villa #2. It had everything we needed to live on the beach for a couple weeks. The villa itself is nicely decorated and well maintained.The view of the ships coming into port everyday is beautiful. The beach/sea was 30 feet from the pool patio out front. Take a short walk to the left on the beach and you are on the boardwalk. If you leave by the rear entrance you are on the main shopping street. Local grocers are a two minute walk away and stocked a variety of goods at reasonable prices. The patio/pool area was quiet and relaxing. Manager "Wally" was available and helpful daily. See you next year! Kim B. Chatham Canada
Roswitha R., Villa #7 Foxie - January 13 - 31, 2019. An Unforgettible Stay in a Magical Location !!

Hosts Rose Marie and Gerard have presented their villa immaculately, decorated in white with blue sea touches to match the colour of the water of Great Bay. Their hospitality is backed up by impeccable service and knowledgable personal advice, available at all times by Villas Resident Manager Wally. The charm and beauty of the whole island will equally enchant. Roswitha R.
Kimberly B., Villa #2 - January 17 - 31, 2019. The PERFECT Vacation !!

Our vacation was perfect from start to finish! Doug and Becky have an awesome condo with everything you could ever wish for. Well decorated with a tropical flair and very welcoming! Upon arrival, Wally, the Manager welcomed us and quickly got us settled in. It wasn't long before we were unpacked and out on the beach and pool area to see our new "home" for the next 2 weeks. I could write a novel of all the wonderful credits to this property and villa! Let me start with Doug and Becky, the owners. From my first email to Doug, our communication was excellent. We spoke on the phone, shared emails and Doug was/is very attentive to his guests. He checks in to make sure all is well and everything is going well. I really appreciated that. Even though there is a property manager on site, Doug keeps great interest to ensure all is well at all times. He is great!! Now, to Wally, the manager. He is the key to making sure all on site continues to be great at all times. He is just fantastic. Everything and anything we needed help or information with, he was there to help! He went over and above, in my opinion. The condo, has everything. I love to cook (yes even on vacation) and the kitchen had everything I needed to hone my chef skills. I did bring spices etc from home, but there were plenty there as well. It's kind of like a "sharing" condo. Prior renters, left behind items they may have brought or purchased during their stay. That was so helpful, because often you just need a little bit of something and that prevented us from having to go out and find it at a grocery store. Everything from ziploc baggies, to coffee filters were there for our use...and will be there for others to come...because you just leave things for the next people to come. There are many small appliances as well. A blender, George Forman grill, toaster, tea kettle..you name it, it is there! Lots of bowls, pot and pans...again, well appointed! There are plenty of towels, both for the house and the beach, so no need to bring any from home. The bathrooms are beautifully decorated and well laid out for your stay. The bedrooms are spacious and the beds are comfy! We slept like babies the entire trip! The grounds are very clean, very well maintained and safe and secure. You are within walking distance to wonderful restaurants! Over all this property is A+ all the way! Kimberly B.
Jan M., Villa #6 - Perth, Canada December 30 - January 15, 2019. Escape the Cold to Villas on Great Bay !!

My husband and I have stayed at the Villas a few times, usually in Villa #5 which has an ideal patio adjoining the pool deck. This Villa would be great for families. This year we stayed in Villa # 6 with its beachfront patio being just a little more removed from the pool area and providing slightly more privacy. Both Villas have been newly renovated with new kitchen appliances and a more open concept kitchen/dining area. There is a small half bathroom just off the kitchen which is very handy. The upstairs has a single spacious bathroom with a lovely glass-block shower. I preferred the king size bedroom at the rear, but it lacked the spectacular view of the harbour that the beachfront queen bedroom with walk out terrace has. It also has a spacious closet. The early morning arrival of the cruise ships can be viewed from bed and that is a luxurious treat. The beach is literally on your doorstep and not too far down the beach is the beginning of the Boardwalk with its many bars, restaurants, beach vendors and shops. A favourite spot for us is the Honky Tonk Bar with its owner, Simon, British ex-pat, providing a decent menu along with your bucket of beers. Another fav, is The Greenhouse at the end of the Boardwalk. We went there most days and always sat in the section serviced by Chris, lovely lady who works hard to make the customers feel they are in her home. Check out the Prime Rib nights and Lobster nights. St. Maarten has been a favourite destination for us for many years but even more so now that we have discovered the Villas on Great Bay. Wally, the on-site Property Manager, will greet you on arrival and is always available to chat about the island and assist whether you need a taxi, recommendation for excursions or restaurants or needs in the Villa. Jan M. Perth, Canada
Steve L., Villa #2 - January 11 - 16, 2019. Great Villa. Wonderful Location !!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Villas on Great Bay. The Villa was well maintained and well equipped. The pool and outside areas were beautiful and relaxing. And access to the beach was so convenient. Wally, the manager, was a wonderful person and helped us immensely. Steve L.
Bradley T., Villa #9 - Pickering, Ontario January 8 - 15, 2019. Perfect Villa in a Great Location, Just What We Were Looking For !!

We have just returned from a week at The Villas on Great Bay Villa # 9 . It had totally lived up to the reviews I have read on this Villa on line . Great location right on the perfect section of Great Bay Beach .Walking distance to the board walk for shops bars and restaurants . Very relaxing and laid back just what we were looking for .The other guest and residents were fantastic they were really friendly and made us feel very welcome. Wally the property manager, you cannot say enough about him . He was a great part of making our perfect experience . Loved it , Bradley T.
Len G., Villa #2 - December 27 - January 11, 2019. Simply the Best !!

It’s hard to imagine a better setting for our two week family vacation... My wife and I have been VRBO renters for over 10 years and we both agree that there’s not one thing we would change about this Villa’s location, amenities, setting, cleanliness, views, pool... well you get the picture. There’s a reason this listing carries impeccable ratings...it’s perfect. Doug is the absolute consummate professional owner and having someone as capable and accommodating as Wally on-site is the coup de grace. I almost “struggled” with the thought of writing a glowing review - not because it’s not warranted - but more because there’s almost a sense that this place is too perfect and we want to keep it “our secret”. But at the end of the day, this IS the perfect culmination of everything that we wanted for a dream vacation. We will be back... Len G.
Diane S., Villa #9 - December 30 - January 8, 2019. Fantastic Vacation !!

This was our first visit to the island, so we didn't know what to expect. From start to finish our 10 days were super. The Villas at Great Bay are located on the quiet end of Great Bay beach. The gardens and grounds are kept immaculately and security at the property is a priority. It is not the Ritz Carlton, but instead the perfect relaxed island vibe. Relaxation at its best. Villa #9 is very private as it is an end unit. We think definitely the best location. The covered porch was the perfect spot to enjoy meals, reading, the sound and beauty of the water lapping on shore, the daily arrivals and departures of cruise ships, sailboats, and vacationers enjoying water sports. You literally could sit there enjoying the view all day. When it was time to venture out, it was an easy stroll down the beach for shopping, food and a bucket of beer. Of course, just walking a few steps for a swim was the best. The living areas are very nice with comfortable furniture and the kitchen is updated with plenty of supplies. We cooked many meals, as if we were at home. Enjoyed the covered garden area with a relatively new clean gas grill which we used. A couple of other key items for us: Villa #9 has its own WiFi Router with a great strong signal! And, while they were not used too often because the temperatures were perfect, the 3 A/C units worked well and cooled the rooms very quickly. The property owner was very friendly, honest and extremely responsive. Two Thumbs Up. The Villas feels like a family due in large part to Wally the manager. He goes above and beyond to make sure the guests are comfortable and happy. Upon arrival, when we inquired about the distance to the grocery story (we didn't have a car), he volunteered he was going in his car the next day and we were welcome to go with him. On New Year's Eve, he hosted (cooking food and providing drink) a party for all the guests in the breezeway. It was a perfect way to meet new friends - many who return year after year. Besides providing recommendations and other arrangements during our stay, on our departure day when our taxi did not arrive to take us to the airport, Wally, without hesitation, grabbed his car keys and drove us himself. First Class Service! Wally, no words to say thank you for your great attitude with guests and the huge daily work. Diane S.

December 2018

Mark M, Villa #7 Foxie - Washington, DC December 16 - 28, 2018. A Perfect Location !!

Our stay at Villa Foxie was just marvelous. From the moment of arrival to our departure, both the villa's owner Rose Marie & Gerard were available to assist with everything from directions to shopping and dining recommendations. The villa itself is comfortable, clean, attractively decorated, and well-stocked with items from a gas grill , towels, sheets, toiletries -- and all the coolers and wine totes you could ever need for a trip to one of the other beaches on the island. We stayed over Christmas, and were delighted by the small Christmas tree and other decorations set up in advance of our arrival! The villa is walking distance of all the restaurants, shopping, and life in Philipsburg, but sits at the quiet end of the beach, away from all the noise. A perfect location! Mark M Washington DC
Renee G, Villa #9 - December 20 - 29, 2018. Relaxing and lovely stay !!

Perfect location on the beach. Great swimming in front of the villa. Close to several restaurants and a little grocery store. Wally the property manager was very helpful. Villa was fully equipped. All the cooking items we needed. Lots of towels. We will be back! Renee G.
Darryl W, Villa #6 - Pinebluff, NC December 21 - 28, 2018. Best Family Vacation Yet !!

Doug, we just wanted to let you know how thankful and grateful we are of you and Norma for letting us share your home and Villa over the last week in St. Maarten. We loved our stay at The Villas (#6). Villa #6 is beautiful!! Proximity to the beach is ridiculously close. Literally feet or meters from your back door. Our host Doug and the property manager, Wally made sure we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay.There are not enough adjectives to describe how nice the place is. Shopping is a few minutes walk from the Villas. Everything was just perfect and we are already making plans for our return. Thanks again for your generous hospitality and making us feel as part of the Villas' family Happy New Year ! Darryl, Jenn, Ryan, & Leah. Pinebluff, NC US
Yuri and Tina K., Villa #2 - Scarborough, Ontario, CANADA December 7 - 14, 2018. This is THE Place to Stay on the Island !!

Sometimes they say: "It's all about a location" … we wish to say: "It is THE place to stay on St.Martin (St.Maarten). A very nice and quiet beach, not disturbed by visitors from cruise liners - and it's literally just 20 steps away from the door. A very well maintained property which has a real feel of a home - from the furniture to utensil to bathrooms to … well … everything! All equipment is in a nice working state. Actually, when there was a general power failure, a diesel generator kicked off right away, so we did not really feel any discomfort. Add to this a full-blown gas stove which does not depend on electricity. A very nice and large fridge with a freezer. Bathrooms are very clean and hot water is NOT in short supply :-) A nice patio … a very nice deep swimming pool .. a BBQ for lovers of ribs and steaks... and it's sooo quiet! There were four of us, including an old lady and a her 6-year old Great Grandson, and the house provided lots of space for everyone. And if wanted to watch a TV or stream video using our PCs and tablets, a cable box and the Internet worked flawlessly (we brought our HDMI cable for convenience). Wally, the property manager, toured us around the whole villa complex, and the house itself. He always was willing to help and assist! We recommend to have a car. It helped us to move around the island, go grocery shopping (oh, the Carrefour Market, we will be remembering the variety of food in it) and easy access from and to the airport. We suggest to NOT buy any GPS program. Use the Google Maps offline map and the Google Maps app will provide you for step-by-step car navigation all right! Would we wish to get back? Absolutely! We liked the place and the island as a whole! We wish to thank the owners of Villa #2 for their choice of everything in the house - and, most of all, for trusting strangers to have a stay in this "home away from home" Yuri and Tina K, Scarborough, Ontario, CANADA

Top of page