Reviews sent to us in 2019

We are continuing to populate this section with more of our great reviews. If you've had the pleasure of staying with us in the past and would like to send us your review, please feel free to contact us.

A large portion of our business is based on returning clients who can’t wait to return to the Villas on Great Bay. Read our clients’ enthusiastic reviews in their own words.

2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 |

June 2019

Tamara C., Villa #9 - June 13 - 20, 2019. Wonderful Place to Stay !!

We had such a great time during our visit to St. Maarten. I think a lot of it had to do with staying here at the Villas. It was incredibly roomy, clean, beautiful, and had everything we needed. It is also walking distance to many restaurants and shopping on Front Street, and close to a grocery store to get smaller items. We loved being right on the beach and being able to come and go as we wished. I also loved hearing the waves crashing at night to go to sleep. Wally, the property manager, was always incredibly helpful and made our stay stress-free. I will definitely stay here again next time we visit and highly recommend it to others! Tamara C.
Nicole C., Villa #9 - June 5 - 12, 2019. Fantastic Vacation !!

We stayed with our two children aged 6 and 8 and had a fantastic time. Sally the property manager was very friendly and helpful and was always available to make sure we had everything we need. The Villa was excellent. A great size for our family and the corner location on the property was ideal. The beach and pool were only a few steps away. In terms of location it is a great spot. The property is on the quieter end of Great bay which we loved. We basically had the beach to ourselves the whole time. Our kids loved the beach - enough waves to make it fun but not too big that we had to worry about them. It is a short walk down the beach to restaurants and shops etc. We hired a car for the whole time as we wanted the flexibility to do different things and that worked out well for us. We are extremely happy with our choice and would come back in the future. Nicole C.
., Villa #2 - June, 2019. Perfect Spot to Relax and Refresh !!

This is one of the best places to relax ! Perfect location for fabulous views...Outside our villa you are just a few steps to a pool and a beautiful sandy beach. This is the best vacation spot to relax and be refreshed ! The on-site manager is wonderful and provides excellent info and helps with just about anything you might need. It is quiet so that you can enjoy the sounds of the ocean surf. Location is a short walk to wonderful restaurants and shopping ! This is one of the best locations we have ever had for a vacation. We will be going back... Can't wait !!

May 2019

Justin ., Villa #7 Foxie - USA May, 2019. Exceptional !!

The villa was bright and had a great open floor plan on the ground floor, literally spilling out onto the lanai and beach. It had a very fresh, clean and stylish beach vibe. The villa is away from the pool area so also very private, quiet and relaxing. The pool area is very nice too and other guests/residents were very friendly. The kitchen was well-stocked with utensils and tableware. The gas grill outside was nice to have available. I hope to be back and would highly recommend to couples and small families staying in St Martin. Justin. US
Martine W ., Villa #5 - Brussels Belgium May 19 - June 1, 2019. Vacation Rental in May 2019 !!

It was our 5th time in St Martin, but the first time on the Dutch side. No regrets. We spent 2 wonderful weeks, Villa No. 5, was very well equipped, near the pool with a gas BBQ, very nice to fully enjoy the outdoor terrace, where we stayed most of the time, even with a very nice decor in the livingroom. There is also a large terrace upstairs facing the beach, off the bedroom we chose to sleep in, where we see the arrival of cruise ships, also a very modern shower. This complex of Villas on Great Bay, has been renovated since Irma, with beautiful gardens. It is quiet, secure and family friendly, even with the proximity of shops, restaurants and bars, within walking distance. Thanks to Wally, the Property Manager, he recommended all the best places to have a good time.

C’était notre 5 fois à St Martin , mais la première fois côté Hollandais. Pas de regret. Nous avons passé 2 semaines merveilleuses , villa n° 5 , très bien équipée, près de la piscine avec un BBQ au gaz, très agréable pour profiter pleinement de la terrasse extérieur, où nous restions la plupart du temps, malgré une déco très sympa dans la pièce a vivre. Il y a aussi une grande terrasse à l’étage coté plage, la chambre que nous avons choisi, d’où on voit l’arrivée des paquebots de croisière, une salle de douche très moderne. Ce complexe de Villas on Great Bay, rénovée depuis Irma, avec un très joli jardin intérieur, est un coin tranquille, sécurisé et familial, malgré la proximité des magasins, resto et bar, où l’on peut aller à pieds. Grâce à Wally, le Property Manager, nous avons eu toutes les bonnes adresses où passer du bon temps. Martine W.

Donnie U., Villa #9 - May 27 - 31, 2019. No Regrets !!

From the easy check in with Wally to the large beautiful room to the incredible view and close to everything, we have no regrets about staying here Donnie U.
Wendi F., Villa #2 - May 25 - 29, 2019. Location, Location, Location !!

Beautiful villa in phillipsburg on a beautiful bay with the most amazing colors and view. Relaxing, quiet, away from hustle of cruise ships, yet close enough to walk to everything we needed. Fully stocked. Thanks for making your home available! Wendi F.
Claudia S., Villa #9 - May, 2019. Loved Every Minute !!

We fell in love with the online pictures of Villa #9 in June 2018 and booked it for May 2019. We wanted to also visit Villa #9 in September and booked it January 2019. It so impressed it that before we left we booked the Villa for May 2020. It is fabulous. Wally is a wonderful manager and willing to answer any questions. He suggested we try Chesterfields for dinner and it didn't disappoint. We had a question about decorations in the Villa and emailed Luca who promptly responded. It's the best Villa of the bunch and the views can't be beat. Gotta try it, just save some time for us. Claudia S.
Sibyl K., Villa #9 - May 11 - 18, 2019. Had a Wonderful Time !!

My daughter, her husband & myself totally enjoyed ourselves. The property was up to date, comfortable, supplied with everything we could possibly need. The beach area in front of the villa was private & quiet. Pool area & grounds were lovely and enjoyable. Can't say enough good things about Wally. He was helpful with restaurant recommendations, shopping needs & any general questions we had. We had a wonderful time. Thanks so much. Sibyl K.
Jonathan P., Villa #6 - Massachusetts May 7 - 16, 2019. If I get back to St Maarten Villa #6 will be my first choice !!

When I chose a location for our vacation, Phillipsburg was our best choice (several reasons). I had been to St Maarten 3x (2004, 2008, 2009) and all times stayed in Simpson Bay. This time I wanted to be close to the main town on the Dutch side and within walking distance of Front St. My research landed me here, and based on descriptions I chose Villa #6. The location was perfect, right at the beginning of Front St and only 1/2-mile to the center of all the shopping. There is still a ways to go recovering from Irma, but the island has made great strides. But let's get to my review of the Villas on Great Bay. I rented a car. I never had a problem finding a space to park in front of the Villas, although a few times during the 10 day stay there were times midday where all spots were taken for an hour or two. There are locked/coded gates to enter the Villas from both the street and beach sides. Wally (property manager) greeted us and got us situated. During our stay he was easily accessible for questions and other items of need. When we were brought into the villa we instantly fell in love with it. We were never contacted by the owner of the villa, and since we had never stayed at such a place am not sure if that would be customary or not for the owner to check in and see how we were enjoying the place. It's two floors. You enter either through a door that has an outside gate that can be locked, or through a windowed door off the downstairs deck beach side. Downstairs there is a bathroom (toilet/sink), and one large room split into a kitchen (dishwasher, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, sink) , counter with stove/oven. On the other side of the counter is a dining room table. Down a couple of stairs is the living room with couches and a TV. The whole wall to the beach is windowed with a door to an outside patio covered by the 2nd floor patio. There was a grill which we did use. Also a table with 4 chairs, and we pulled in a couple of lounge chairs from the pool. Upstairs there are 2 bedrooms and a master bathroom with a large walk-in shower, beautifully appointed with a 1/2-wall made of glass blocks. The largest bedroom (king) is in the interior without a view. The smaller bedroom had a double bed which you can look right out the slider to the 2nd floor balcony. Both upstairs and downstairs balconies have the storm doors which can be lowered at night for privacy (which we did). There is no smoking in the villa, but with the outside steps away that did not pose much of an issue. The upstairs balcony is big as is the downstairs. When downstairs people do walk past you between room & pool, so a tad less private than other villas. There was a safe in the upstairs closet in the smaller bedroom but we didn't have key or code and never asked for it. I chose this location due to my wife's health issue which sometimes forces her to stay put. I walked every day into town where there was shopping, restaurants & bars. Back St also has shopping. There are several small casinos in town. At night, only Chesterfields was open late (10PM) and The Greenhouse (9PM) for eats/drinks. Casinos open later. Everything else was closed. If you want a nightlife you so to Simpson Bay which is about a 15-minute drive. I didn't care for that which is why I stayed in Philipsburg. In fact did most of my drinking at the villa with a nice bottle of rum. The beach is just steps from the Villa. It was fairly private and nice for my liking. There's a slightly steep pitch and a few rocks underfoot, but it took nothing away from the enjoyment of not having to drive anywhere to go to a beach (which we did not). Now here's the point deductions. I understand Irma had happened 1.5 years ago and there was much work that needed to be done to get everything up and running. The biggest thing is we had no hot water. All the units have solar heaters on the roof. After speaking with Wally it was a mutual decision not to repair while we were there with the risk of losing all water. The shower was lukewarm enough to deal with although my 1st hot shower home was sweet. For my wife and I the beds were simply uncomfortable. Egg Crates on top of the mattress, yet still way too hard for our liking (personal preference). I also noticed the 1st time I went to use the dishwasher that it was not secured into the counter, so when the door opened it would tilt. And the grill we had was hissing first time we turned it on, and Wally quickly remedied that. We came just as off-season was getting into full swing. I cannot speak for Phillipsburg during busy season (if things are open later). If you desire nightlife and a resort feel, then I think Simpson Bay or Orient Bay or Maho would be better. If you desire a quieter location then this works. You might feel uncomfortable walking out at night, but I never had any issues. I really give this place 5 stars with .5 star deduction for the issues I mentioned. If I get back to St Maarten Villa #6 will be my first choice (subject to availability). Jonathan P. Massachusetts
Kelly B., Villa #2 - May 11 - 18, 2019. Sint Maarten Paradise !!

This was our third time staying in Villa 2 - perfect location in Philipsburg! We love the private condo on the beach and full access to the boardwalk and Front Street. Great shops and restaurants within walking distance. Kelly B.
Shannon S., Villa #9 - May 3 - 8, 2019. Wonderful Place !!

Absolutely beautiful place to stay . Villa was very clean and only a few steps to the water . Wally the property manager is the greatest . I will definitely plan to stay here again. Shannon S.
Mr H., Villa #2 - April 27 - May 3, 2019. Great Location !!

This was our first trip to St Maarten and we plan to come back to this same location. The Villas are a perfectly located on the beach with a pool just feet away from the sand. We happened to be there during the 50th Anniversary of Carnival and the parade went right in front of the Villas. Many locals told us it was one of the best spots to watch the events and we agreed. Walking to the boardwalk was close and there are many great restaurant and bar options. All of the people we met on the island were very friendly as well as the other guests staying at the Villas. The Villa had everything we needed and was a wonderful place to call home for a week. Thanks to Doug K for helping us book the place, and shout out to the property manager Wally who helped us all week when we needed something. Mr H.

April 2019

Pablo Z., Villa #7 Foxie - April 26 - 29, 2019. Private and Beautiful Villa Foxie !!

Villa Foxie is a beautiful Villa, very clean and updated. Nice decoration. You'll find beach chairs, beach towels, parasol, everything.... The beach is right outside the Villa and was not crowded. It's a perfect location, close to the Boardwalk and restaurants but far enough away to be more private. We would definitely stay in Villa Foxie again. Pablo Z.
Brian W., Villa #9 - April 28 - May 1, 2019. Great Place to Stay !!

This was a wonderful place to stay. The accommodations were wonderful and the view was splendid. The room was well maintained and Wally was very nice and helpful. Will definitely stay here next time we are in St, Maarten Brian W.
Adrien and Alyssa M., Villa #1 Rose - April 12 - 17, 2019. Exceptional Villa Rose !!

Exceptional Villa Rose Thank you for all. Your Villa Rose is exceptional. 10 of 10. Thank you Adrien and Alyssa M.
Jorgen G., Villa #7 Foxie - Finland April 20 - 26, 2019. Villa Foxie Great Location Right at the Beach !!

The Villa are located right at the beach, basically they have their own private beach just outside the fence. The Philipsburg boardwalk with all its restaurants is just a short walk away. The area felt secure with locked gates and a high fence around the property. The pool area is quite small but we were almost alone there most of the time, which was great. Beautiful stay in Villa Foxie. Jorgen G. Finland
Frank C., Villa #9 - Ontario Canada April 13 - 27, 2019. Villas on Great Bay Villa 9 !!

Absolutely great Villa in perfect location ,right on beach.Villa is beautifully decorated and has everything you need for a relaxing stay. Close to shops,restaurants, and grocery store. Property Manager Wally is a great source of local information and is always available to assist with any problems. Our best ever vacation!! Frank C. Ontario Canada
Christine V., Villa #2 - Montreal Canada April 16 - 27, 2019. Beachfront Location !!

We were 6 adults that stayed at this stunning beachfront villa for 12 days. We had an amazing time! The villa had everything we needed and beyond. The beds were comfortable even the sofa sleeper. The pool was clean. The view is truly breathtaking. Most days the water was clear and had gentle waves. The villa is ideally located. It is walking distance to restaurants, shops, casinos, etc. We didn’t rent a car but got to the grocery store, Maho, Simpson bay and Marigot very easily by bus. The bus stop was 3m from the villa. From the beginning, great communication with Doug, the owner. Wally (property manager) was also great. He helped us reserve taxis, excursions. We will definitely be staying at this villa next time we visit St. Maarten! Christine V. Montreal Canada
James K., Villa #7 Foxie - April 13 - 20, 2019. St. Maarten Villa Foxie !!

Loved it. Great location. Relaxing quarters, nice amenities. We would stay again. James K.
Robert B., Villa #2 - Marquette Michigan April 10 - 15, 2019. Great Place to Relax and Enjoy the Sun !!

The Villas were perfectly located with a great view of the bay and easy walking to town. When you get tired of the pool you just walk through the gate and are right on the beach. It was just as pictures in every way. The property manager, Wally, was extremely helpful and happy to help. It is the perfect place to stay in St Maarten Robert B.
Jodi W., Villa #9 - March 30 - April 9, 2019. Steps From the Sand !!

Just returned from a stay in Villa #9 after a 30-year hiatus from St Maarten! The villa was wonderful; plenty of room, clean and updated. We loved being so close to the beach! It's so close to the water you can hear the waves without even opening the door. Wally, the property manager, was always very accommodating and friendly. Our one wish was to have the king bed in the room facing the ocean. I'm sure it would be a bit tight in there, but we preferred to wake up to the view, so we snuggled in the queen bed! What would have made our stay better was more activity at night in Philipsburg and along the boardwalk. When the cruise ships are in, however, it's a different story. We liked walking there at night, but sometimes it was a bit dark. All the locals were friendly though! We certainly won't wait another 30 years to return. Thanks Luke and Wally! Jodi W.
Ron and Holly P., Villa #5 - April 2 - 14, 2019. 12 Glorious Days in Villa #5 !!

Had the pleasure of returning to our favourite island of St. Martin and staying at the Villas on Great Bay for 12 glorious days in April. We were fortunate enough to stay in our preferred villa #5 which owners Doug and Norma have done an amazing job of renovating since the hurricane. New kitchen, new bathrooms, with everything one could possibly need while on vacation. Unit #5 is our favourite as you are close to the pool and sun deck but still maintain your privacy with the roomy lanai. Upon arrival we were greeted by the Villa's wonderful property manager Wally who works extremely hard to ensure each guest enjoys their stay. At the beginning of our holiday we talked of day trips we wanted to take but those plans quickly changed as we were so content to just relax and enjoy our surroundings, the sound of the waves, the beautiful blues of the water and the georgeous white sand of the beach directly in front of us. The location is ideal with the boardwalk steps away with great restaurants, bars and shopping and a great little grocery store across the street, really no need to rent a car with everything so close at hand.Thanks Norma and Doug for sharing your vacation villa with us again and hopefully see you next year for another vacation in paradise!! Ron and Holly P.
Cindy Jo M., Villa #7 Foxie - April 6 - 13, 2019. Exceptional Villa #7 !!

The view from the Villa's is absolutely gorgeous. The Villas are just far enough a way to have quiet and privacy, yet very convenient to shopping, dining, bars and other activities. 5-10 minute walk to most everything. The property is very well maintained inside and out. The property manager Wally is so attentive. Upon our arrival he was waiting on the front sidewalk to greet us, show us around and hand over the keys. Foxie #7. Was like home away from home. Very spacious. We had everything we needed and more to make our stay effortless. I can't recommend this location enough. Say yes, you won't be sorry. Thank you Rose Marie and Wally for a perfect vacation. See you again soon. Cindy Jo M.
Robert B., Villa #7 Foxie - Canada March 30 - April 6, 2019. Beautiful Villa Foxie !!

Nous revenons d'une semaine au soleil dans cette superbe villa. Des hôtes accueillants et un manager local (Wally) toujours disponible. Les commerces sont pratiquement tous ouverts à Phillipsburg (les jours où les bateaux de croisières se pointent). Site agréable avec la plage à deux pas; On se baigne donc 4-5 fois par jours. Les lieux sont tranquille et à 15 min à pied le long de la plage des commerces et restaurants.

We returned from a week in the sun in this beautiful villa. Welcoming hosts and a local manager (Wally) were always available. The shops are almost all open in Philipsburg (the days when the cruise ships come in). Pleasant location with the beach just steps away; We swam 4-5 times a day. The area is quiet and 15 minutes walk along the beach to the shops and restaurants.

Robert B. Canada

March 2019

Nicole P., Villa #7 Foxie - March 20 - 27, 2019. Amazing Stay in Villa Foxie !!

One of the best Villa on the Island. We had a nice time. Thank you Rose Marie. All perfect. Nicole P.
Meredith W., Villa #9 - March 23 - 26, 2019. Perfect Getaway !!

I booked Villa #9 very last minute (the day before our arrival) and the owner was very quick to respond and help finalize the details for our arrival. Wally, the property manager, greeted us as soon as we arrived and showed us to the villa which looks even more beautiful than it does in the pictures. The villa was updated and had more than enough space for 3 adults. The pool in the complex was nice and the beach is only steps away. In addition, Wally was a huge help in recommending places to eat, buy groceries and he even helped to book us a catamaran tour. I don't think that there is anything that we would change, other than to stay longer! We would 100% return to Villa #9. Meredith W.
Ellen H., Villa #9 - March 2 - 23, 2019. Villas on Great Bay !!

This was our fourth time at the Villas, villa 9 is our favorite. Thank you Lucia for sharing your villa. Thanks to Wally the on site manager. Thanks for all your help when we had an emergency, Wally was right there to help us, over and above his duties, he also checks on everyone every day. The views from Villa 9 are awesome, cruise ships coming and going, beautiful sun rise and awesome sunsets. The newly done over downstairs was very nice, the pullout sofa bed was great as my husband cannot do the stairs. Ellen, from Va. Pat from Ma. Ellen H.
Paul M., Villa #2 - March 20 - 24, 2019. Excellent, as advertised !!

What a wonderful stay! EXACTLY as promised, the villa was in a great location, clean and safe, and well stocked with everything kitchen-related. Locate on an excellent beach, with groceries nearby, restaurants(good ones) galore, and friendly locals. Caretaker Wally was always on hand and available for directions or referrals (food, taxi's, etc), and owner Doug's attention to detail is everywhere. Previous reviews have it right: you really do get what is advertised, it really is "that good", you will not be disappointed! Paul M.
Kathy M., Villa #2 - March 9 - 16, 2019. Amazing Family Vacation!!! Perfect Location !!

Our family of four stayed at this beautiful villa for one fantastic week and totally had the best time. Absolute perfect location, with amazing views, a short walk to great restaurants, shopping, casinos and the beautiful boardwalk. A small grocery store right around the corner, stocked with a variety. Thank you, Doug and Becky, for opening your beautiful home to us and for checking in on us to make sure all was good. Everything was perfect from start to finish and the communication with Dough was excellent. He called and introduced himself, we chatted, and he was very easy to talk with. Many emails followed with valuable information and more phone calls. Doug goes above and beyond the call of duty. Doug and Becky think of everything possible to inform us before arrival that enables all to have the best vacation possible and it worked. Upon arriving we were met by Wally, the property manage, who helped with our luggage and escorted us to our villa. He gave us the tour and showed us how to operate what was necessary. He told us to have fun enjoy and if we needed anything at all do not hesitate to call on him. The welcome items in fridge was a nice gesture and much appreciated. Wally is friendly and offers knowledge on all aspect of the island. The delivery of the local newspaper early each morning was a great touch that I looked forward to. I am an early riser and enjoyed reading the paper on the patio and watching the ships come in. Wally would come by at least twice a day to check on us and make sure all was good. Thank you, Wally, for all that you do and keep doing to make each and everyone's stay a success. The villa is perfect, spacious, beautiful, peaceful and bright. Fully stocked kitchen, bedrooms, bathrooms. The entire villas has everything one could possible need and so much more. The beds are super comfortable and everyone had a good night sleep each and every night. The view from every angle was breathtaking. Amazing beach, with the beautiful ocean which we prefer and not busy at all. Love the short walk out the gate and you are right on the beach. The gated complex is a bonus, the grounds are beautifully kept. There is so much to see and do or as little as you want and it's all at your fingertips at The Villas on Great Bay. Too much greatness to write about and will highly recommend this property. We look forward to our visit next year. Thanks once again to Doug, Becky and Wally. ABSOLUTE GEM IN PARADISE!!! Kathy M.
Lisa H., Villa #1 Rose - March 17 - 31, 2019. Awesome Vacation !!

Love the space we had , the view was beautiful, the people here are friendly. Loved everything Lisa H.

February 2019

Sharon H., Villa #9 - February 2 - 28, 2019. Back To Paradise !!

We recently returned from a wonderful 4 week stay In Villa #9. First of all, we can't say enough about Luca (the owner) who always responds quickly to any questions or requests, and Wally (the manager) who was very informative and helpful throughout our vacation. This was not our first time to Villa 9 and certainly will not be our last. As we entered Villa #9 through the side garden area we knew we were back in Paradise. The renovations in the Villa are superb The kitchen has a beautiful island where we could cook and have a direct view of the ocean - new appliances; dishes; cutlery etc. completes the kitchen reno. The first floor as well as the side garden area has new flooring. There is a new shower in the garden area which my husband used often. New furniture in the living area and new sliding doors with a screen door and hurricane shutters. New mattresses arrived the day we were leaving. What more could we ask for? A lanai for having breakfast while watching the cruise ships come in to port or sunbathing on the upper or lower deck. Oh yes, the ocean is only a few feet from the deck. The Villa is decorated with beach/ocean prints and a carved wooden man on the staircase and one under the stairs. The fencing around the Villas is new and higher and painted to blend with the turquoise ocean. We gathered around the pool with old friends and new ones we met. Our daughter, my sister and brother-in-law (both who travel a lot) joined us for part of our vacation and decided that the Villas were the only place they wanted to vacation in the future. Only a few minutes walk will take you to Phillipsburg and the boardwalk with all the shops, restaurants and bars but at the Villa, it is peaceful. Sitting in the Lanai listening to a great SXM station with mixed music; watching the comings and goings on the ocean was magical. Thank-you Luca for sharing your Villa with us for this vacation, the past vacations and the future vacations. Sharon H.
Joyce and Fred S., Villa #7 Foxie - February 12 - 26, 2019. Beautiful Stay in Villa Foxie !!

We were very happy staying in Villa Foxie, this year, and look forward to next Feb, 2020. You were very gracious and fun to talk to and the villa is very nicely decorated and functional. We extremely enjoyed that it is one of the more private villas, but also very convenient to the pool. We look forward to seeing you next year if you are there. Joyce and Fred S.
Harry B., Villa #2 - February 2 - 16, 2019. Wonderful 2 Weeks !!

This was our second 2 week stay at the Villas. Unit 2 was in fine shape after the hurricane. The unit provided for all our needs and the manager Wally was very helpful and available. We highly recommend #2. Harry B.
Dave and Kelly F., Villa #7 Foxie - Eighty Four, PA February 4 - 12, 2019. Perfect Place for a Beach Vacation !!

We LOVED Villa Foxie! The villa is lovely & comfortable with a nice beach feel. Everything you need is there like beach towels, lounges, umbrella, coolers. The kitchen has plenty of supplies. We stayed in the ocean facing bedroom so we could listen to the waves. The upper deck with chairs and lounges is a great place to relax in the morning and at night. It gets full sun in the afternoon if you prefer a little more private sunbathing. We enjoyed having breakfast on the back patio everyday. We spent time on the beach & on the patio lounging under the umbrella. There's nothing better than being right on the beach! It's a short walk up the beach to the restaurants/bars/shops on the boardwalk & Front St. Cruise ships are in everyday, but the villa is situated a little away from the beach crowds. Rose Marie, the owner, is lovely and welcomed us with warmth & a wonderful bottle of wine. Wally, the property manager, is friendly & helpful. Both are available if you need anything.or have questions. Wally also picked up lobsters one day for guests & prepped them for us to grill. What a treat! We had a wonderful vacation...and may be back next year! Dave and Kelly F. Eighty Four, PA US

January 2019

Amy K., Villa #7 Foxie - December 31 - January 5, 2019. Beautiful Villa Foxie !!

The best New Year. Beautiful fireworks directly on the beach,front the Villa Foxie. A beautiful stay, too short in one of the most beautiful villas. Thank you Rose Marie for your kindness and welcome. Amy K.
Tracy J., Villa #5 - December 20 - January 5, 2019. Back Better Than Ever !!

This was our first time back after the hurricane. Wally has done such a great job restoring the Villas. The villas we stayed in over Christmas had a brand new kitchen, the water heaters are working well, wifi was up and running, the pool was better than ever! Phillipsburg opens up when the ships are in but isn't staying open very much past that. We used Wallys recommendation on groceries and rental car. So happy the villas made it through. Its one of our top places to go to relax! Tracy J.
Kim B., Villa #2 - Chatham, Canada January 17 - 31, 2019. Relaxation With an Amazing View !!

My friends and I stayed in villa #2. It had everything we needed to live on the beach for a couple weeks. The villa itself is nicely decorated and well maintained.The view of the ships coming into port everyday is beautiful. The beach/sea was 30 feet from the pool patio out front. Take a short walk to the left on the beach and you are on the boardwalk. If you leave by the rear entrance you are on the main shopping street. Local grocers are a two minute walk away and stocked a variety of goods at reasonable prices. The patio/pool area was quiet and relaxing. Manager "Wally" was available and helpful daily. See you next year! Kim B. Chatham Canada
Roswitha R., Villa #7 Foxie - January 13 - 31, 2019. An Unforgettible Stay in a Magical Location !!

Hosts Rose Marie and Gerard have presented their villa immaculately, decorated in white with blue sea touches to match the colour of the water of Great Bay. Their hospitality is backed up by impeccable service and knowledgable personal advice, available at all times by Villas Resident Manager Wally. The charm and beauty of the whole island will equally enchant. Roswitha R.
Kimberly B., Villa #2 - January 17 - 31, 2019. The PERFECT Vacation !!

Our vacation was perfect from start to finish! Doug and Becky have an awesome condo with everything you could ever wish for. Well decorated with a tropical flair and very welcoming! Upon arrival, Wally, the Manager welcomed us and quickly got us settled in. It wasn't long before we were unpacked and out on the beach and pool area to see our new "home" for the next 2 weeks. I could write a novel of all the wonderful credits to this property and villa! Let me start with Doug and Becky, the owners. From my first email to Doug, our communication was excellent. We spoke on the phone, shared emails and Doug was/is very attentive to his guests. He checks in to make sure all is well and everything is going well. I really appreciated that. Even though there is a property manager on site, Doug keeps great interest to ensure all is well at all times. He is great!! Now, to Wally, the manager. He is the key to making sure all on site continues to be great at all times. He is just fantastic. Everything and anything we needed help or information with, he was there to help! He went over and above, in my opinion. The condo, has everything. I love to cook (yes even on vacation) and the kitchen had everything I needed to hone my chef skills. I did bring spices etc from home, but there were plenty there as well. It's kind of like a "sharing" condo. Prior renters, left behind items they may have brought or purchased during their stay. That was so helpful, because often you just need a little bit of something and that prevented us from having to go out and find it at a grocery store. Everything from ziploc baggies, to coffee filters were there for our use...and will be there for others to come...because you just leave things for the next people to come. There are many small appliances as well. A blender, George Forman grill, toaster, tea kettle..you name it, it is there! Lots of bowls, pot and pans...again, well appointed! There are plenty of towels, both for the house and the beach, so no need to bring any from home. The bathrooms are beautifully decorated and well laid out for your stay. The bedrooms are spacious and the beds are comfy! We slept like babies the entire trip! The grounds are very clean, very well maintained and safe and secure. You are within walking distance to wonderful restaurants! Over all this property is A+ all the way! Kimberly B.
Jan M., Villa #6 - Perth, Canada December 30 - January 15, 2019. Escape the Cold to Villas on Great Bay !!

My husband and I have stayed at the Villas a few times, usually in Villa #5 which has an ideal patio adjoining the pool deck. This Villa would be great for families. This year we stayed in Villa # 6 with its beachfront patio being just a little more removed from the pool area and providing slightly more privacy. Both Villas have been newly renovated with new kitchen appliances and a more open concept kitchen/dining area. There is a small half bathroom just off the kitchen which is very handy. The upstairs has a single spacious bathroom with a lovely glass-block shower. I preferred the king size bedroom at the rear, but it lacked the spectacular view of the harbour that the beachfront queen bedroom with walk out terrace has. It also has a spacious closet. The early morning arrival of the cruise ships can be viewed from bed and that is a luxurious treat. The beach is literally on your doorstep and not too far down the beach is the beginning of the Boardwalk with its many bars, restaurants, beach vendors and shops. A favourite spot for us is the Honky Tonk Bar with its owner, Simon, British ex-pat, providing a decent menu along with your bucket of beers. Another fav, is The Greenhouse at the end of the Boardwalk. We went there most days and always sat in the section serviced by Chris, lovely lady who works hard to make the customers feel they are in her home. Check out the Prime Rib nights and Lobster nights. St. Maarten has been a favourite destination for us for many years but even more so now that we have discovered the Villas on Great Bay. Wally, the on-site Property Manager, will greet you on arrival and is always available to chat about the island and assist whether you need a taxi, recommendation for excursions or restaurants or needs in the Villa. Jan M. Perth, Canada
Steve L., Villa #2 - January 11 - 16, 2019. Great Villa. Wonderful Location !!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Villas on Great Bay. The Villa was well maintained and well equipped. The pool and outside areas were beautiful and relaxing. And access to the beach was so convenient. Wally, the manager, was a wonderful person and helped us immensely. Steve L.
Bradley T., Villa #9 - Pickering, Ontario January 8 - 15, 2019. Perfect Villa in a Great Location, Just What We Were Looking For !!

We have just returned from a week at The Villas on Great Bay Villa # 9 . It had totally lived up to the reviews I have read on this Villa on line . Great location right on the perfect section of Great Bay Beach .Walking distance to the board walk for shops bars and restaurants . Very relaxing and laid back just what we were looking for .The other guest and residents were fantastic they were really friendly and made us feel very welcome. Wally the property manager, you cannot say enough about him . He was a great part of making our perfect experience . Loved it , Bradley T.
Len G., Villa #2 - December 27 - January 11, 2019. Simply the Best !!

It’s hard to imagine a better setting for our two week family vacation... My wife and I have been VRBO renters for over 10 years and we both agree that there’s not one thing we would change about this Villa’s location, amenities, setting, cleanliness, views, pool... well you get the picture. There’s a reason this listing carries impeccable ratings...it’s perfect. Doug is the absolute consummate professional owner and having someone as capable and accommodating as Wally on-site is the coup de grace. I almost “struggled” with the thought of writing a glowing review - not because it’s not warranted - but more because there’s almost a sense that this place is too perfect and we want to keep it “our secret”. But at the end of the day, this IS the perfect culmination of everything that we wanted for a dream vacation. We will be back... Len G.
Diane S., Villa #9 - December 30 - January 8, 2019. Fantastic Vacation !!

This was our first visit to the island, so we didn't know what to expect. From start to finish our 10 days were super. The Villas at Great Bay are located on the quiet end of Great Bay beach. The gardens and grounds are kept immaculately and security at the property is a priority. It is not the Ritz Carlton, but instead the perfect relaxed island vibe. Relaxation at its best. Villa #9 is very private as it is an end unit. We think definitely the best location. The covered porch was the perfect spot to enjoy meals, reading, the sound and beauty of the water lapping on shore, the daily arrivals and departures of cruise ships, sailboats, and vacationers enjoying water sports. You literally could sit there enjoying the view all day. When it was time to venture out, it was an easy stroll down the beach for shopping, food and a bucket of beer. Of course, just walking a few steps for a swim was the best. The living areas are very nice with comfortable furniture and the kitchen is updated with plenty of supplies. We cooked many meals, as if we were at home. Enjoyed the covered garden area with a relatively new clean gas grill which we used. A couple of other key items for us: Villa #9 has its own WiFi Router with a great strong signal! And, while they were not used too often because the temperatures were perfect, the 3 A/C units worked well and cooled the rooms very quickly. The property owner was very friendly, honest and extremely responsive. Two Thumbs Up. The Villas feels like a family due in large part to Wally the manager. He goes above and beyond to make sure the guests are comfortable and happy. Upon arrival, when we inquired about the distance to the grocery story (we didn't have a car), he volunteered he was going in his car the next day and we were welcome to go with him. On New Year's Eve, he hosted (cooking food and providing drink) a party for all the guests in the breezeway. It was a perfect way to meet new friends - many who return year after year. Besides providing recommendations and other arrangements during our stay, on our departure day when our taxi did not arrive to take us to the airport, Wally, without hesitation, grabbed his car keys and drove us himself. First Class Service! Wally, no words to say thank you for your great attitude with guests and the huge daily work. Diane S.

Top of page