Reviews sent to us in 2020

We are continuing to populate this section with more of our great reviews. If you've had the pleasure of staying with us in the past and would like to send us your review, please feel free to contact us.

A large portion of our business is based on returning clients who can’t wait to return to the Villas on Great Bay. Read our clients’ enthusiastic reviews in their own words.

2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 |

January 2020

Tina W, Villa #9 - January 4 - 11, 2020. Paradise !!

A soon as we pulled up we were greeted by Wally the property manager who was absolutely amazing! The house was PERFECT & smelled amazing! The view was SO BEAUTIFUL!!!! This was the first time we stayed in Phillipsburg & it was the perfect location! Close to everything yet so quiet & so perfect! Our family would wake up & jump right into the ocean ! This was exactly what our family of 6 needed ! I can’t thank Luke the owner enough for being so responsive & answering every question we had. Luke thank you so much for sharing your home with us, we have made so many memories that we will have forever! We had to pinch ourselves every day as this was paradise !Can’t wait to come back next year !!!!!! Tina W
Andrei S, Villa #12 - December 30, 2019 - Jan 6, 2020. Excellent location and Amenities !!

Excellent location and amenities! Wally is wonderful host. Thank you for letting us stay in your beautiful place. Andrei S.
Roman D, Villa #2 - Toronto Canada December 28, 2019 - Jan 4, 2020. Nice Place in Philipsburg !!

Doug was an excellent host to communicate with. Always responded quickly and had a wealth of information. Villa was exactly as described and was well appointed with all essentials. Wally the property manager was always around and a pleasure to deal with (He really is the highlight of the Villas). Beach and ocean is beautiful out front and the boardwalk is literally next to you. It was a great stay. The only thing we regret was not renting a car to visit other areas, although taxi prices I thought were fair. Roman D
Tracy J, Villa #5 - Elkhart, Indiana December 23, 2019 - Jan 7, 2020. Repeat Visitor !!

This was our third time at the Villas. We love staying here. They villas feel like home and are more than accommodating. Great Bay is the best spot on the island. You are within walking distance from several great dining spots, you can be on the beach all day or rent a car and explore the island. The kitchens are all stocked if you choose to cook for yourself. We are already planning our next visit. Tracy J
Michelle H, Villa #9 - December 26, 2019 - Jan 2, 2020. Can't Wait to Return !!

What an amazing vacation at Great Bay Villas! From start to finish the vacation was absolutely perfect. The booking process was easy and the communication with Luke, the owner was timely as well as with Wally, the property manager. Wally met us in front of the Villas as soon as we pulled up in our rental car. He helped us with our luggage and was very welcoming, giving us a thorough tour of the accommodations as well as answering any questions we had. The accommodations were exactly as they were shown on the website and the view from the villa was stunning. The pool was beautiful and clean and was very refreshing during the heat of the day. Safe, secure, clean, spacious, great location for walking into Philipsburg and so much more. We can't wait to return to Great Bay Villa #9. Loved it! Michelle H.
Richard F, Villa Rose #1 - December 26, 2019 - Jan 1, 2020. Great Accommodations !!

Great accommodations, great view and great service. Liked· The property location was excellent, and the facilities were great. The property manager was very helpful, and the owner was very attentive and accommodating. Richard F.

December 2019

Kavita P, Villa #4 - San Francisco, CA December 23 - 30, 2019. Truly 5 star Villa #4 !!

We stayed over Christmas Dec 23-30 in Villa #4, it was a class experience. The villa is fully stocked with everything you will need to have a comfortable stay and ample of it. I believe one can stay in this villa for a week without any housekeeping. We did have a housekeeping done in middle of our stay and it was $10 an hour. The villas have a shared laundry (washer and dryer), which is very comfortable. We cooked several meals for us in the Villa and eating dinner on the terrace watching ships departing was like a magic. We had a car and parking was never an issue, we always found a spot in front of the villa. Great Bay is the best swimming location and we did jet ski several times and had lunches at various restaurants. The villa is also very accessible to Carefour supermarket and few km's from Simpsons bay. Lastly thanks to resident manager Wally, he is an absolute gem of a person. He was ready to provide any help whenever needed. We are already planning our second visit. Kavita P
Vijay A, Villa #9 - December 23 - 26, 2019. An Excellent Host !!

We rented this villa for 3 days in Dec'19. We are a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids). We had a great time here. The villa had everything we needed and being right on the beach was pretty convenient. The owner was prompt in his communication throughout the process. But the highlight of the reception is the manager, Wally. He was amazingly helpful and gave us a a great experience throughout. The overall condo complex is lucky to have him as their manager. The only downside is that Philipsburg is pretty dead after the cruise ships leave and you might have to drive out of town for good restaurants during the evenings. But that feedback is more about the town, not about this villa Vijay A
Nelda J, Villa #2 - December 21 - 28, 2019. Christmas Trip !!

The location was perfect, close enough to downtown to walk to shopping and restaurants but far enough away to not be in the hustle of people. Fun to watch cruise ships come and go while we enjoyed the infinity pool, listening to and watching the ocean . The villa manager, Wally, was very helpful with recommendations for excursions and restaurants. The villa was stocked with everything we needed, except we forgot to bring binoculars; they would have been great looking at the ships and water activities. The beds were very comfortable. Accommodations were clean, fresh and well organized. We highly recommend staying at The Villas on Great Bay, Villa 2. Nelda J
Gord M, Villa #9 - Toronto Canada December 15 - 22, 2019. Stay in Villa 9 !!

The unit was excellent it had everything you needed. Great pool, close to the ocean, very private and good security! Wally The property manager was amazing and helped in every way possible. My one complaint that has nothing to do with the unit was dogs barking very loud at night. This kept me fully awake for two nights, this was from the building beside the complex and in the area, other than that 9.5 out of 10 Gord M. Toronto Canada
Janice D, Villa #9 - December 7 - 14, 2019. Our Stay was Wonderful !!

Exactly as described - roomy with all the little things! Janice D

November 2019

Kathryn., Villa #4 - November 3 - 17, 2019. Paradise for 2 weeks Again !!

This was our first time staying in Villa 4 we normally stay in villa 2 but it was booked. Once again we had a wonderful 2 weeks at the villas lots of firsts for us this time but the constant is Wally. He is the most considerate, accommodating, available when needed friend and manager of the villas. Anything you want or need he is the go to person. Thank you Wally. My childhood friend and her partner joined us this time which made it the best holiday. Wally arranged for James to pick us up at the airport, James picked us up for a number of years until Irma arrived and changed the professions people did until visitors returned to the island. James has a 12 person van and believe me we filled it with luggage, food (we stopped at the grocery store and drinks). We took the local bus $2.00 each way many times to different parts of the island. We visited different areas of the island this time but also visited some of our favorites Mary Boon’s, Rainbow Beach, Friar’s Bay, Maho, Marigot market and pastry shops, the boardwalk, Orange cafe on the boardwalk. Wally took us on an island tour and it was good to see the growth the island has experienced in one year. We took the ferry to Anguilla for the day and started at the Elvis bar as my friend is a huge fan. We didn’t stay there just got a mug and then headed to Shoal beach for the day, water was rough but food and beer were great. As I have said in all of my reviews over the years if you are considering a vacation in St. Martin the best place to stay is the Villas. Till we meet again thank you Wally. Kathryn, Phil, Val and Graham.
Alison and Paul R., Villa #6 - November 7 -19, 2019. Paradise !!

My husband and I stayed at the Villas from November 7th to November 19th. It was wonderful. I give it a 5 * rating. Our communication with Wally the property manager and the owners of the villa before our arrival were easy and informative. We rented Villa 6 and it was exactly as shown in the photos. Very well appointed, a well stocked kitchen with lots of utensils and very good cook wear. Loved the gas stove and the dishwasher was a bonus. Everything was clean and in working order and the AC was very quiet and worked great. Wifi both in and outside the villa was never an issue. The front facing bedroom has a queen bed and the back bedroom has a king bed. We opted for the king bed and it was very comfortable. The bathroom is spacious and has great water pressure with lots of hot water every day. The bar-b-que was in good working condition and we used it every night we ate in. We drank the tap water with no issues. On the way from the airport we asked our taxi driver to stop at the Carrefour supermarket and he was very accommodating. The supermarket has a great selection of everything and the prices are reasonable. There are several smaller supermarkets within walking distance of the villas for small essentials. During our time at the villas, 7 were occupied for some of our time but you never felt crowed, it was never loud, the pool was not busy. Upon arrival Wally met us at the gate and showed us around the grounds and our villa. He was ever present making sure everything was to our liking and always available to answer any questions and offer suggestions. He even gave us a lift to the Carrefour supermarket one day as he was going by there. The beach is beautiful. Water entry is gradual with no high waves or undertow. Most days it was like glass. We walked the beach every day. We celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary and renewed our vows on the beach while friends and family watched us on the villa’s web cam. It was very special. Don’t hesitate to take the local transportation. It is easy and fairly well structured. We took the bus to Margot at a cost $2.00/pp each way and we hopped on the ferry to Anguilla. We rented a car and drove all over the island with ease. It’s a beautiful island with beautiful beaches I highly recommend it. We have stayed on many islands in the Caribbean and self catered each time. I can honestly say the Villas at Great Bay are as close to perfect as we have come. The property, the villas, the amenities, the proximity to the beach and town is second to none. We will definitely return soon. Alison and Paul R.
Craig S., Villa #9 - November 24 -30, 2019. Thanksgiving Abroad !!

An exceptional vacation stay.. wonderful location. Wally was very helpful in places to go, eat, and, be merry. We'd stay there again if the opportunity arises... Craig S.
Tony and Tammy, Villa #2 - Coldwater, MS November, 2019. First Time Here !!

Villa #2 was everything we needed for a great stay in Phillipsburg. Wonderful updated accommodations and a great view of the Bay from either patio. Perfect amount of room for 2 couples .Start every morning with coffee on your private patio and watch the surrounding area come alive.Just a short walk to the Boardwalk and Downtown area for shopping , dining or just a refreshing drink . Use the " shop and drop " grocery online to prep your stay with essentials , it's good to have your fridge stocked and "beverages" cold when you arrive. Wally is Great, he is there if you need him for anything . The perfect spot to relax and reboot. Thanks Doug for allowing us to enjoy your Villa while we were in ST Maarten this time. Definitely a return trip in the works ! Tony and Tammy. Coldwater MS.
Barry B., - Toronto Canada November, 2019. First Time Here !!

This was our first time here at the Villas and it wont be our last. The unit we had was well malntained with all the amenities we needed. Wally met us on arrival and took us to our villa explained everthing. Great view of the ocean and the grounds. Barry B.

October 2019

Julie H., Villa #9 - October 11 - 16, 2019. One of Our Best Trips !!

The Villa was just as described. The location was perfect. Have stayed in many beachfront condos in the Caribbean, but never been this few steps from the water. Beautiful views of the cruise port, the bay and neighboring islands. Close to shopping, bars and restaurants, both casual and fine. We arrived on Friday and rented a car...it was parked until Monday night. Wally, the property manager was fantastic and tended to every need and question promptly and friendly. Not that we needed much. The unit was super clean, well-equipped with all the little extras you would need, updated and comfortable. Luca, the owner was great to work with and very responsive. This was a do-over for us for a trip that was cancelled in 2017 thanks to Hurricane Irma WE had the same unit booked then and we will definitely book it again when we return to St. Maarten. Julie H.

Top of page