View our live camera
 

Reviews sent to us in 2017

We are continuing to populate this section with more of our great reviews. If you've had the pleasure of staying with us in the past and would like to send us your review, please feel free to contact us.

A large portion of our business is based on returning clients who can’t wait to return to the Villas on Great Bay. Read our clients’ enthusiastic reviews in their own words.

2017 |2016 |2015 |2014 |2013 |2012

May 2017

Heather R., Villa #2 - May 2017. Amazing !!

We have never been here, and this was the best experience we have ever had!!! The Manager Wally is the absolute best person we have ever had the pleasure of knowing. He told us the best places to go and what to see and do. It was like having our very own travel guide!! I HIGHLY recommend staying at the Villas at Great Bay! Wally manages this Villa to perfection!! Thank you Wally for everything that you did for us! Heather R
Stacey B., Villa #2 - April 28 - May 7, 2017. Wonderful Property !!

Great views, great location! Stacey B, USA
Stacey B., Villa #4 - April 30 - May 7, 2017. Beautiful Property !!

Perfect views of the ocean. Easy walking to shopping and restaurants. Stacey B, USA
Stacey B., Villa #9 - April 30 - May 7, 2017. Great Place !!

Relaxing but with lots of options for activities Stacey B, USA

April 2017

Kathryn A., Villa #2 - Ontario, Canada April 8 - 22, 2017. Villa Was Outstanding Again !!

Our spring vacation could not have been better thanks to Doug, Becky and Wally. We stayed in Villa 2 in September and were looking forward to returning again this time for 2 weeks. Their home is so inviting and welcoming and there is nothing for you to want for as it has all been provided for you. Once again we took the local bus to most places and highly recommend if you stay to do the same. James the best taxi driver ever took us to places the buses didn't go. James is so knowledgeable about the island and recommends the best beaches and things to do. I also love his fishing stories. Wally the Manager greeted us on our arrival and helped us when we were ready to come home. Not only is he a great manager for all of the villas but a true friend to people staying there. He was able to provide and cook fresh lobster one night and shared stories about the island and suggested great places to eat and visit. One day there were 5 cruise ships that came in that had around 28,000 people (we have this many in our home town) and they came to use the beach and take in the beautiful island but there are so many places to go on the island you never noticed big crowds. We went to Friars beach for the day and it was wonderful. We took our frozen meat in our checked baggage again this time and it was still frozen when we arrived from Ontario. We went to the grocery store or James stopped at roadside vendors for our fresh fruit and vegetables. A reminder of home was the day the doves were building a nest in a coconut tree just off the upper deck. Thank you Doug and Becky for sharing your home with us again. Kathryn A, Ontario, Canada
Gerald S., Villa #9 - April 22 - 30, 2017. Great Time Was had by All !! Villa was beautiful, great beach right in front of you. Cannot say enough about Wally the manager in charge, he was great. He helped us out with everything, was waiting for us to arrive, and was always available when we needed him. Thanks Wally I'm sure we will return. Gerald S.
Darrell J., Villa #9 - April 13 - 22, 2017. This is a beautiful property with a fantastic view! Everything you need for a great vacation!! Unit 9 is very private and has its on balcony for sunning. The newly renovated bathrooms are very nice! There is a security guard on site at night and a gardener comes regularly during the day. Wally, the site manager is very welcoming and helpful! Darrell J.
Gina B, Villa #6 - April 11 - 15, 2017. Awesome !! Villa 6 was great and Wally was awesome! The grounds were well kept and we felt very safe although it took awhile for me to get used to figuring out which key to use for each lock. Wally let us stay past the check out time because our plane didn't leave til 5:30. That made our day much easier. Thanks, Wally! Gina B.
Tracey J, Villa #1 - Elkhart, Indiana Mar. 31 - April 9, 2017. Had a Good Time With Minimal Issues !! Overall the villas are a nice place to stay. The building was well cared for and you would see gardeners are care takers through the week. The other guests were all kind and we had good times around the pool. The villa owners had left wine for our arrival which was very sweet. My family opted to buy groceries and cook several meals for ourselves. Our unit had a charcoal grill where others had gas which would be a nice addition. The kitchen was equipped with most everything you would need. There was 1 full bath that we used, the other shower was on the porch which we did not use due to other quests being in close proximity. The water heater is solar so hot water was not always available. I couldn't figure out the sink would have hot but the shower would be luke-warm at best. We had sunburns so it wasn't a huge deal but our kiddo wouldn't shower due to the temp and had to opt for just wiping her down. We stayed in Villa #1 which is on the west edge where there is another building and a dog barked most every night throughout the nights. You will also be woken by roosters every morning about 6 AM so bring ear plugs if you want to sleep in. Although I suspect this will by most all over the island. The AC had a hard time keeping up some nights but kept the rooms cool most of the time. The mattresses and pillows could use an upgrade. I slept in the master 2 nights then moved to the little bed and slept with my daughter because it was slightly more comfortable. Some of the other guests said Villa 2 and 4 had better upgrades? Wally the property manager was excellent. He helped arrange dinner and day trip reservations and was friendly and helpful. Overall, we would stay here again. Bring good mosquito repellent. You will get bit while you sleep. Tracey J, Elkhart, Indiana USA

March 2017

Ellen & Leo from Va. Pat from Ma., Villa #9 - March 3 - 31, 2017. Villa #9 - Villas on Great Bay !! Everything was awesome, what is not to enjoy, the view from our patio and deck was beautiful. Sunsets were awesome. Unit was very comfortable, ate out on our deck most nights, the plus is having a gas grill to cook out on, also having coffee in the morning on patio watching cruise ships arrive. Thanks to Wally for all his help, he would check every day to see if we needed anything. Thanks to owner Luca for sharing your wonderful Villa, if possible to return we would definitely pick your villa, the view was AWESOME, we had fun talking to the people walking by on the beach. Ellen & Leo from Va. Pat from Ma.
Wes H, Villa #3 - March, 2017. Excellent Place to Chill and Refresh the Batteries !! This was my first visit to St. Maarten and I am planning a return visit soon! Villa #3 is sparkling clean. It looks freshly painted and well maintained. The kitchen has everything necessary for a stay at the beach... especially the blender and gas grill! We cooked in one evening, but walked down the beach to different restaurants most nights. The Honky Tonk became our favorite spot for lunch and people watching. We enjoyed spending time in the shade of the covered lanai, watching the cruise ships go in and out of the port. We were only a couple steps from the pool. Comfy beach chairs and umbrellas were available for us to take down to the beach. Can't wait to go back! I will definitely recommend this Villa to all of my friends for a relaxing Caribbean getaway. Wes H.
Harry D, Villa #2 - Portsmouth, England March 4 - 11, 2017. Wonderful Property, Right on the Beach at Great Bay !! This is our second time of visiting the Villas on great bay and it has got even better. The villa has everything you need for a truly wonderful stay. It is very clean and comfortable, especially the bedrooms. Doug has gone out of his way to ensure that our stay would be special. He has had excellent communications with us to ensure we would have everything we need. The position is great in that it is at the quiet end of the bay and yet it only takes twenty minutes to walk to the other end . Plenty of bars, restaurants to choose from. Don't forget to walk down Back street, more local. It is certainly worth the walk to go to Chesterfields for lunch or dinner, a wonderful setting. If you want a Catamaran trip I suggest you contact Eagle tours, the girls there are very helpful. Harry D, Portsmouth, England
Jim & Amy L, Villa #5 & 12 - Indianapolis, Indiana Feb. 28 - March 5, 2017. So Much Fun !! We celebrated my wife's 50th birthday at the Villas on Great Bay. There were 4 couples in our party that stayed in #5 (2BR) and #12 (3BR). It was a perfect setup for us! The #5 patio is pool side and was just great for Cake by the Ocean! I spent considerable time looking at properties before finally going for the one with the best location. You just can't beat the location... we walked to the shops and restaurants everyday. Also, walked to the ferry for a day trip to St. Bart's. The accommodations were very good. Kitchen had everything we needed for those at-home meals and the management was very responsive and attentive at assuring our stay was fabulous! Jim & Amy L. Indianapolis, Indiana USA

February 2017

Brenda W. Villa #4 - Feb. 8 - 22, 2017. Great !! Our 5th time at villas and already booked for next year. Brenda W.
Roger & Helen B, Villa #9 - Feb. 23 - March 2, 2017. Great Bay Villas ...It has it all !! Great location, great restaurants, excellent beach. Villa's are nicely set up with pool. From the patio, which is nicely furnished, we loved watching the cruise ships coming in as well as the large variety of private yachts. Grocery store a 5 minute walk away and the board walk far enough away to miss the crowds but close enough to walk to in 5 minutes whenever you want. Comfortable booking process. The on site Manager was helpful and around to assist when arriving and leaving. We had no regrets what so ever staying here and would do it again. Roger & Helen B.
Joe L, Villa #2 - Staunton, VA Feb. 20 - March 1, 2017. A Slice of Paradise (Almost) !! We spent 9 days at the Villas on Great Bay and it was awesome. This is a private enclave of 12 villas in a gated and secure location right on the beach. The location is outstanding, we walked daily to the restaurants on the Philipsburg boardwalk and never needed a car. We did use a taxi for a couple of times to get back from Chesterfield's restaurant, which is a bit of a hike (1 mile). The view is amazing. We enjoyed watching the cruise ships arrive and depart each day. The accommodations at Villa #2 were excellent. The villa was clean, well stocked with essentials with comfortable and tasteful furnishings, and the owner is very responsive. The property manager (Wally) is outstanding. He is very friendly and attentive to the needs of the customers. He is also a very interesting fellow with great stories. We were amazed at how quickly 9 days passed by. The only negatives that we experienced were crowing roosters (beginning at about 4:00am), a barking dog at the apartment building next door (sometimes at 2:00am) and loud children in the common pool (the Villas are not adults only). There is a floating playground just off the beach adjacent to the Villas which mars an otherwise gorgeous view of the bay, the old fort, and the volcano on Saba. These annoyances would be considered minor by many people and certainly did not spoil our visit. If you go, try to get Villa #2. In our opinion it is the best. It has more privacy, nice shade, and beautiful landscaping. Joe L, Staunton, VA, USA
Villa #9 - Prince George, BC Canada Feb. 20 - 23, 2017. It Doesn't Get Much Better Than This !! We are a family from Canada with 2 younger kids and recently were lucky enough to finish up our vacation with a 3 night stay at this villa. The pictures almost say it all.. this is great place in a great location. What they don't say is how wonderful Luca ( the owner) and Wally ( the property manager ) are to deal with. Before the stay, any of my questions/ issues were quickly answered and sorted by Luca, and Wally was truly a " Super Host"... AND there is a huge inflatable playground on the water only steps away! Doesn't get much better than this! Prince George, BC, Canada
Ed W, Villa #4 - Utica, NY Feb. 8 - 22, 2017. As Always, a Great Place to Vacation !! The villa and surrounding facility were great. The new property manager, Wally, did a great job. The owners of the villa, Claudette and Louis, were friendly and made you feel welcome. We hope to be coming for many more years. Ed W. Utica, NY, USA
Ed & Lori, Villa #1 - Northfield, New Jersey Feb. 10 - 18, 2017. Return Stay as Wonderful as Last !! My husband and I were very pleased with our return to the Villas in Philipsburg and will be back. We needed the r&r and got just that. Late sleep-ins, noon brunch that we cooked everyday. Late nights eating out and some cocktails. Philipsburg is a lovely place and the Villas, just fantastic. I love the people in St Maarten and feel at home. No car, just walking, taxi or bus. Villa #1 is the most private but only one full bathroom but there is a 1/2 bath downstairs and outside shower. Wally, the property manage was a great help with anything. Thank you Wally for your knowledge and quips, made me laugh. And thank you Rose Marie and Gerard for letting us stay at your villa. Edmond and Lori, Northfield, New Jersey, USA

January 2017

Richard O. & Sheila, Villa #9 - Buffalo, NY January, 2017. De toute beauté - Beautiful !! Nous sommes aller passer une semaine avec des amies tres belle endroit pres de tout resto boutique et surtout ne pas oublier Wally qui est d un grand service.

We just spent a wonderful week in a villa at Villas On Great Bay in Philipsburg. The villa was most comfortable and located right on the beach with a beautiful view of the entire bay. We enjoyed the ability to walk the boardwalk, walk to the stores and to many restaurants. The Villa's infinity pool was just steps from our patio. The property manager, Wally, was very nice and ready to assist us in any way. I highly recommend staying at Villas On Great Bay.

Richard O. & Sheila, Buffalo, NY
River2maxmurphy67 - Hamilton, Ontario, Canada Jan 7 to Feb.5, 2017. Sunscreen....$8, Snorkel Equipment....$40, The Stay at Villas on Great Bay...Priceless !! Although spending quality time with each other ( 3 friends from Guelph, Ontario and 1 friend from Vancouver B.C. ) was the highlight of our vacation, our stay at the Villas on Great Bay was spectacular! Our Villa was clean, beautifully furnished, and each bedroom was equipped with its own private ensuite bathroom - very convenient! From John ( The Gardner) , to Wally ( Manager ) to Claudette ( one of the owners), there was not a day that went by, that the staff/ owners were not friendly, hospitable or approachable. Wally was so knowledgeable about the Island, that he made our daily adventure planning so much easier. In fact, if it wasn't for Wally's Island knowledge, we would have missed one of our most memorable events- the Tuesday Evening Festival at Grand Case. In addition to the festival, we embarked on a number of exciting adventures such as Eagle Tour's Eco-Friendly Around the Island Catamaran tour, Trisportsxm's Bicycle Island tour, and a number of $2 public bus rides to places such as Sarafina's French Bakery ( Marigot), Orient Beach ( the driver even extended his route to deliver us right to the front entrance of the beach! ), Simpson Bay, and Maho ( specifically, the airport, to collect all the friends). On one bus ride occasion, we were deeply moved when the driver stopped the bus to return our partial fare as the route we were taking was considered shorter, therefore costing only a $1 opposed to the standard $2 that we were used to paying. The honesty of the bus driver was another great reminder of the integrity of the local people. One of our finest memories of the vacation will be the Birthday Celebration at Holland House- an exquisite restaurant just steps along the boardwalk from the Villas. To honour 3 of us having a birthday in February, we ordered the Seafood Platter- it was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious! The staff were fabulous! - very attentive and helpful! Overall, the Villas on Great Bay is a spectacular place to stay!! Wally , the manager is to be commended for consistently going above and beyond the call of duty to make the guests feel welcome , safe and relaxed!! I highly recommend the Villas on Great Bay !! River2maxmurphy67, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Patti S Villa #9 - January 21 - 28, 2017. Lovely Place !! Omg, what a beautiful villa we had! We so enjoyed our ocean front view each day! The villa is fully equipped with all you may need to make your stay as comfortable as possible! The off street parking in the alleyway was perfect, right outside our villa door! You are in walking distance either down the beach or street side to downtown shopping and restaurants. Security was superb and we never felt unsafe in this area of Philipsburg!! A small grocery and bakery shop are nearby and convenient! The 2 bedrooms are upstairs so this villa would not work for someone with handicap needs, although not a problem for us. Our site manager , Wally was super, he checked with us daily and made sure all our needs were attended to right away!! We certainly did enjoy the lovely private pool. Lovely place to stay with few, if any negatives!! You won't be disappointed staying here!!! Patti S.
Sheila Villa #9 - Buffalo, NY January, 2017. Beautiful !! We just spent a wonderful week in a villa at Villas On Great Bay in Philipsburg. The villa was most comfortable and located right on the beach with a beautiful view of the entire bay. We enjoyed the ability to walk the boardwalk, walk to the stores and to many restaurants. The Villa's infinity pool was just steps from our patio. The property manager, Wally, was very nice and ready to assist us in any way. I highly recommend staying at Villas On Great Bay. Sheila, Buffalo, NY
Richard O. Villa #9 - January, 2017. De toute beauté - Beautiful !! Nous sommes aller passer une semaine avec des amies tres belle endroit pres de tout resto boutique et surtout ne pas oublier Wally qui est d un grand service. We spend a week with friends very nice place close to any shop and especially do not forget Wally which is a great service. Richard O.
Johanne C. Villa #9 - January 14 to 21, 2017. Superbe Semaine - Great Week !! Nous avons séjournés une semaine à la Villa On Great Bay. Emplacement ideal à Philipsburg. Distance de marche du Boardwalk. Beaucoup de supermarché pour aller faire ces emplettes. Le directeur (Wally) très sympathique et prends soin des clients. Je vous recommande l'endroit.

We stayed one week at Villa On Great Bay. Ideal location in Philipsburg. Walking distance to Boardwalk. Lots of supermarket to go shopping. The manager (Wally) is very friendly and takes care of guests. I recommend the place.

Johanne C.
Sue M. Villa #4 - Sarnia, Canada January 12 to 22, 2017. Another 10 Nights in Paradise !! This was our 3rd year vacationing at The Villas...I think it gets better every year.. We traveled with our daughter, son in law and 2 granddaughters ages 5 & 10... This time in Villa #4... LOVED it... The owners, Claudette & Louis are very attentive - and their Villa is gorgeous.. Newly renovated, modern yet kept the Caribbean flare.. Everything you needed and then some, all within their Villa. Claudette was very attentive, friendly and thoughtful.. She stopped by every morning just to ask if we needed anything... She is absolutely lovely !! LOVED that they included fold-able beach chairs with their Villa .. Great idea !! As always, St. Maarten is our favourite island.. Everyone is so friendly and happy... We all walked to town every evening for dinner at one of the fabulous restaurants on the Boardwalk.. Our favourite was Chesterfields.. The food & service - AMAZING !! We have stayed in Villa #9, Villa #2 and Villa #4.. I would highly recommend any one of these Villas.. Each one a little different & unique with something we loved about each of them..The owners of all 3 of those Villa's are very accommodating and can't do enough to make your vacation perfect !!

Wally is the new Property Manager and he is fantastic.. So friendly and helpful with anything from information about the islands, restaurants, tours to making sure if we needed anything, he was there to help.. Wally is definitely a great addition to the Villas... Can't thank him enough for all he does for everyone there.. Loved seeing past vacationers we have met there on our previous visits as well as meeting new friends - so fabulous chatting with everyone around the pool..Such a great bunch of people...Feels like these are longtime friends, and hoping to keep in contact with them.. An elderly couple, also staying at the Villas had lost her diamond ring on the beach one day. Can't believe it but I found it buried in the sand, the following day and was thrilled to knock on her door with the ring in my hand.. As we were heading home to the airport on our last day, Claudette, Louis & Wally escorted us to the taxi and really made us feel like family !! So appreciated that !! All 3 owners that we had the pleasure of sharing a piece of their paradise, Luca #9, Doug & Becky #2 and Claudette & Louis #4 were wonderful and so accommodating ...We are so happy we chose their Villas to once again make our vacation FANTASTIC..St. Maarten & The Villas of Great Bay, left us looking forward to returning next year !!

Sue M, Sarnia, Canada
Buffalo Sisters Villa #1 - Buffalo, NY December 29 through January 20, 2017. The Whole Enchilada !! It's difficult to find a spot that ticks all the boxes. Warm weather, beautiful clean accommodations, pool and fabulous view, walking distance to great bars and restaurants. The Villas have that covered. What will really blow your mind though, are the great people that you meet and will always remember with a smile there. Starting with Wally the Property Manager. I could go on and on. He is ALWAYS available, never intrusive and a catalyst for fun. I would be heartbroken if he ever left. John the gardener, who delivered our paper every morning with a smile and kept the grounds meticulously clean. Then there are the visitors that return year after year. We hit the jackpot with Robert and Eileen. Words could never express how fond I became of both of them and their lovely guests in a short period of time. Lovely warm evenings having cocktails and laughing poolside will be one of my fondest memories. It was of course enhanced by having the pleasure of sharing those times with Wally and Claudette. Loved every second! Buffalo Sisters, Buffalo, NY
Steven N Villa #4 - Canada December 31 through January 7, 2017. Home Away From Home...Villa 4 !! This was our fourth time in St Martin and our second time staying at The Villas and we cannot wait to return. The small gated complex is perfectly located, just a few minutes walk to Philipsberg and directly on the beach. We did not rent a car, but opted for local buses which were easy and inexpensive. The Villas are individually owned, thus decor and amenities in each villa will vary, but in Villa 4, owners Claudette and Louis have provided an abundance of towels, beach towels 4 collapsible beach chairs to name just a few things. Villa #4 has been extensively renovated and is even more beautiful than the pictures. The kitchen has absolutely everything you could possibly need for self catering with excellent quality cookware and utensils. Not all the Villas have en-suites off both bedrooms as Villa 4 does and if traveling with more than 2 adults it is certainly nice to have. We love St Marten and are looking forward to returning to the Villas Steven N. Canada
Nicole G Villa #3 - December 29 through January 7, 2017. A Great Way to Relax After the Hectic Holidays !! The villa was an amazing way to relax after the hectic holidays, especially watching the sunset every night from our balcony. It was super clean, and the beach decor was adorable! We had a great time grilling out by the pool and watching the cruise ships pull in to port. We stayed for a little over a week and the kitchen had everything we needed, especially a blender! (can't sit poolside without a margarita!) The grocery store is literally across the street which made it super convenient when we wanted to cook dinner, but it's proximity to the boardwalk meant we didn't cook too much! Other vacationers recommended the Honky Tonk (like a 5 minute walk MAX.) as a great place for lunch and drinks, we completely agree! We can't wait to come back soon! Nicole G

Top of page